North Carolina Drivers Ed - Basic Requirements
It's finally time to earn your North Carolina drivers license. We’re just as excited as you are, and we want to make sure the path to your license is a smooth one. Because we know this can be a confusing process, we’ve broken down the steps you’ll need to take. The three phases you’ll make your way through are:
- Limited learners permit
- Limited provisional license
- Full provisional license
We'll walk you through each one of these. If you're considering parent-taught drivers ed, that's an option too.
NC Driver Education - Course Overview
Wondering what you'll be learning in this course? Our North Carolina drivers ed covers the following topics:
- Driving in various weather conditions, and how to be prepared for all of them
- Proper road etiquette, so you know how to share the road with motorcyclists, pedestrians, etc.
- Vehicle maintenance
- Drug and alcohol laws that affect driving
Online Course Benefits
Taking North Carolina drivers ed online is the fastest, easiest way to fulfill your driver education requirement. And with I Drive Safely's course, you'll get unique features that enhance your learning experience, such as:
- Animations, videos, and graphics that will entertain you as you go through the material
- Concise information, so you get what you need without having to wade through unnecessary text
- The freedom to study anywhere with an Internet connection, at any time of day or night
- Auto-save — we remember where you left off each time you log out, so you never have to stress about losing your place
- Brief, multiple-choice quizzes for improved knowledge retention
Final Exam and Certificate of Completion
At the end of your North Carolina drivers ed online course, you’ll take a 50-question final exam. The questions are multiple-choice and refer back to your course material. The required score to pass is 80%, but don't fret - you get unlimited attempts! Don’t worry if you don’t pass on your first try—you can keep trying until you do.
As soon as you pass, you can leave the rest up to us! We’ll process your certificate of completion quickly, and mail it out to you through whichever method of shipping you prefer. If you go with our standard U.S. Mail option, you’ll get your certificate sent to you for free! That’s right, you won’t pay a penny.
Plus, if you finish your course before 3:00 pm central time, we'll mail out your certificate that same day! How cool is that?
North Carolina Limited Learners Permit Requirements
Though you may start a driver education course at the age of 14 and a half, you must be at least 15 years old to get your North Carolina learners permit. You will also need to have had at least 30 hours of driver education instruction, and will need to pass a vision test.
While you have your permit, you will be required to log 60 hours of supervised behind-the-wheel practice. 10 of these hours must take place at night, and the criteria for your supervisor are:
- Must be a parent/grandparent/guardian of permit holder or a responsible individual that is approved by the parent or guardian
- The supervising driver must be a licensed driver who has held his or her license for at least 5 years
How to Get Your North Carolina Learners Permit
The next steps for you to take for your driver training requirements are follows:
- Bring these documents with you to the driver license office:
- Driver education certificate (you will receive this after you finish your North Carolina drivers ed course)
- Driving eligibility certificate (issued by your high school)
- Completed DL-4A form (driving log to advance to Level 2 provisional license)
- Birth certificate and Social Security card
- Money for the permit fee
- Bring your parent or guardian with you when you apply to sign the application
- Pass written, sign, and vision tests at your local driver license office
North Carolina Limited Provisional License Requirements
After the learners permit, the next phase is the limited provisional drivers license. In order to qualify for your limited North Carolina drivers license, you have to meet the following:
- Be at least 16, but younger than 18
- Have held your North Carolina drivers permit for at least 1 year (12 months)
- Pass a road test
- Present proof of liability insurance coverage
- Supply a completed DL-4B form ((driving log to advance to Level 3 full provisional license)
Now all that's left is getting your full provisional license! To obtain your North Carolina drivers license:
- Hold your limited provisional license for a minimum of 6 months
- Remain free of convictions for moving violations or seat belt/mobile phone infractions within the last 6 months
And that's it! Once you've successfully met all those requirements, you may drive unsupervised at any time. Congratulations!
Why I Drive Safely?
I Drive Safely is a trusted name in the industry, with more than 15 years of experience helping teenagers and adults of all ages be safer, more responsible drivers. Some of the things that make us a great company include:
- A high-quality course that's fun, educational, and catered to your busy schedule
- 24/7 customer support available to answer your questions at any time
- A money-back guarantee in case you're not satisfied
So why not give us a shot? Sign up for your North Carolina driver education online course today, and get on your way to completing your drivers ed course requirements.