Benefits of Taking Online Drivers Ed in Arkansas
Are you ready to get your drivers license? You might want to rush down to your local Arkansas state police office to take your driving tests, but are you really ready? You can find all the information you need to prepare for your Arkansas drivers license right here.
Arkansas Drivers Permit Requirements
Drivers licenses in Arkansas are divided into 3 categories:
- Learners license (a.k.a. "drivers permit")
- Intermediate license
- Regular license
New teen drivers between the ages of 14-16 can earn an Arkansas learners license or drivers permit from the Office of Driver Services. This beginning-level drivers license is equivalent to what’s called a drivers permit in other states. To obtain a learners license, teens must pass a written permit test as well as a behind-the-wheel driving test administered by the state police. Applicants must also pass a vision exam to qualify.
Once you earn an Arkansas learners permit, you can only drive when you are accompanied by an adult over the age of 21. Teen drivers are also required to wear their seat belt at all times, and they are prohibited from using a cell phone or other wireless communication device while driving, unless it’s an emergency. After your 16th birthday, you may apply for an intermediate drivers license.
Arkansas Drivers License Requirements
Teen drivers in Arkansas ages 16-18 can obtain a restricted drivers license. It is valid through your 18th birthday, and is only available to teens who have not had any serious accidents or traffic convictions within the past 6 months. Drivers who hold an intermediate license are required to wear their seat belt at all times. If you have been in an accident or you’re convicted of a serious traffic conviction within the previous 6 months, you will be required to continue to drive with your learners license until your record is clear of the violations for 6 consecutive months.
If you’re under the age of 18, you are still required to drive with an adult over the age of 21 for the first 6 months you hold this license. Once you maintain a clean driving record for those 6 months, you are allowed to drive unsupervised. Remember, cell phone restrictions are still in place for you. In addition, with an intermediate license you cannot drive with more than one unrelated minor passenger without being accompanied by an adult driver over age 21. You’re also prohibited from driving between the hours of 11 p.m. and 4 a.m. unless you are accompanied by an adult over the age of 21, going to or from a school, church, or job-related function. Emergency situations are also exceptions to this rule.
When you turn 18, you will finally be eligible for a standard Arkansas drivers license, so long as you had no serious accidents or traffic violations in the past 12 months.
Why Arkansas Drivers Ed is Important
The best way for you to ensure your success when you head to the ODS to take your permit test is to prepare. It is possible to study for the Arkansas drivers permit test on your own, but it’s not ideal. Driving laws are tricky, and though reading through the driver’s manual is one way to get the information you need, it’s not the best way to absorb the material. Taking a drivers education course is an effective and easy way to learn everything you need to know about Arkansas driving laws, along with gaining valuable safe-driving knowledge that can be applied the very first time you get behind the wheel.
Drivers Ed Course Overview
Our Arkansas drivers ed online course is created to be simple to understand and easy to follow. What you’ll learn from drivers ed is valuable info that all new drivers need. Not only will this course help you prepare to earn your Arkansas drivers permit, it will also help you to be a safe and informed driver.
Topics Covered Include:
- Traffic signs and signals
- Skills to avoid an accident
- Dangers of driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol
- Safe driving tips for dangerous weather conditions
- How to handle emergency situations
Each chapter in the course ends with a 10-question quiz that will help you review the material you just covered. You will need to score an 80% or higher in order to move on, but don’t worry, you can take it as many times as necessary to pass.
Benefits of Online Drivers Ed
If you’re considering taking Arkansas drivers ed, an online course is a great place to start. Not only are you getting a great education in driving, but you can enjoy the luxury of taking a course from home rather than spending time in a classroom. It’s the fastest, most convenient way to review driving laws and safety scenarios. With engaging and interactive materials, you’ll find it easier than you expected to retain all the valuable information you need to pass your driving exam.
About the Final Exam and Certificate Processing
The online course is designed to be fast and easy to use. It’s not timed, so you can cruise through the lessons at your own pace. To complete your course, you’ll need to pass a final exam. There are 50 questions and 80% is the passing score. Once you pass, your certificate of completion will be processed quickly and mailed out to you free of charge.
Why Choose I Drive Safely?
I Drive Safely is the leader in online drivers education. With over 15+ years of experience, we have more state approvals than any other provider. Because we are so confident in our courses, we offer a money-back guarantee. If you’re not pleased with your experience, contact us before you take the final exam and your course fee will be returned to you.
It’s our goal to keep you happy, which is why we have customer support agents available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. Someone is always available to help.