Requirements for Getting Your Michigan Drivers License
Are you a Michigan teenager looking to get your drivers license? You’ve come to the right place. The Great Lakes state has a long and rich history of churning out safe and responsible drivers. Did you know that Michigan was in fact the first state to make driver education mandatory – this dates back to 1955.
Michigan is unique, in that teenagers may begin the driver education process at 14 years and 8 months – a little earlier than most states. Let’s get started.
Michigan Drivers Permit and License Requirements
The Michigan driver education program is a two-part process. The first segment consists of 30 hours of instruction: 24 in the classroom (or online classroom), and 6 hours of behind the wheel training. Also, a minimum of 4 hours of observation in a training vehicle. This first segment covers general topics like vehicle safety, defensive driving, and some Michigan-specific traffic laws (namely, the Michigan Left).
In order to pass segment 1, you must take a 100-question multiple-choice quiz, to prove you have been paying attention in your Michigan drivers ed class. Once you pass the quiz, your diving instructor will give you a certificate. Take that certificate to the local branch office of the Secretary of State. You’ll also need to bring proof of identity, and a parent or legal guardian. Once there, you’ll be given a health and vision test. Pass that, and it’s on to segment 2.
Segment 2 is a 6-hour classroom course that will provide you with more in-depth and specific information about best driving practices. But before you can begin segment 2, you will need to accrue an additional 30 hours of supervised driving (two of those hours must be at night) and you must have held your Level 1 License for at least 3 continuous months.
Taking Drivers Ed Online in Michigan
An online course offers you flexibility you just can’t get in a classroom. With online education, you can do the lessons whenever the time is right for you. In addition to the convenience, you also have the luxury of logging on and learning when your brain is ready. This helps you to retain the information better, and because it’s information on safe driving practices, it could very well save your life!
About Final Exam and Certificate Processing
Before you complete your Michigan drivers ed course you are required to pass a multiple choice final exam. The questions are taken from the lessons, so if you’ve been paying attention you have nothing to worry about. Once you pass, I Drive Safely will mail you a certificate of completion. If you finish the exam before 3 p.m. Central Time, your certificate will be shipped out (regular mail) the very same day.
Why Choose I Drive Safely
When it comes to education, quality matters. And when it comes to driving, the better your education is, the safer you’ll be. I Drive Safely has helped millions of drivers get their license or improve their skills on the road. We have 15+ years of experience, and are dedicated to keeping you – and everyone around you – safe.