Understanding Idaho Drivers Ed Online
If you’re ready to start down the exciting path to earning your Idaho drivers license, then you need to know where to start. Idaho follows a Graduated Drivers License program, which means you’ll have a few requirements and restrictions you’ll need to meet before you can start driving on your own.
Idaho Supervised Instruction Permit Requirements
Like many other states, the Idaho Department of Motor Vehicles requires teen drivers to earn their privilege to drive in stages. The first stage is a Supervised Instruction Permit (SIP) or Idaho learners permit. Teens over the age of 14 ½ and under the age of 17 who possess a SIP must meet the following restrictions:
- Have a licensed adult over the age of 21 riding in the passenger seat and supervising your driving
- Require all passengers to wear seat belts or child restraints
- Carry your SIP with you when you’re driving
- Observe all alcohol and other substance laws
- Accumulate 50 hours of supervised driving time, 10 of those hours must be after dark
Once you meet the above criteria, you are at least 15 years of age, and you have had your Idaho drivers permit for a minimum of 6 months without a traffic violation, you’re eligible to apply for the Idaho drivers license.
Idaho Drivers Training Requirements
Teen drivers must fulfill Idaho drivers training requirements before they can get their drivers license. Drivers training includes 30 hours of Idaho drivers ed classroom study, 6 hours of in-car observation with a licensed adult, and 6 hours of behind-the-wheel training with a certified instructor. These can be taken through a public school or a private organization. If taken at a school, the course is required to span a 42-day period during the school year, or 30 days if school is not in session.
Idaho Drivers Education Overview
A qualified Idaho drivers ed course can be taken at a public school, through a private instructor, or online. These courses are available to new drivers between the ages of 14 ½ to 21.
The course must be approved by the Idaho Transportation Department and the State Department of Education. Some of the basics of what you’ll learn in Idaho drivers ed include traffic laws and consequences, road signs and signals, and valuable situational knowledge that will help new drivers handle changes they may face on the road. Drivers ed will not only teach new drivers what they need to know in order to be safe and smart on the road, but a good course will thoroughly prepare a student to pass their written Idaho drivers license exam.
Taking Drivers Ed Online
While some students may prefer the familiarity of a classroom environment, taking online drivers education in Idaho offers a flexible alternative to completing your drivers ed course requirement. Teens have the ability to fit the 30 hours of course material into their busy lives, logging in and out of the course at their convenience. In addition, an online course, like the one offered by I Drive Safely, includes fun graphics and animations that make learning much more entertaining. Managing your own time and learning in a more interesting way will definitely make remembering the rules of the road easier for new drivers.
Course Completion and Certificate Delivery
Once you finish an Idaho drivers education course online, a certificate of completion is sent to you free of charge. This will prove you completed the 30-hour course and earned a passing score of 80% on the 50-question final exam. Hang on to this proof of completion, as you will need to take it with you when you apply for your Idaho drivers license.
Drivers License Requirements in Idaho
The education portion of your drivers training is just one step. Before you can apply for your drivers license, you need to complete the following:
- Have your SIP for 6 months
- Have be at least 15 years of age
- Have completed 50-hours of driving practice with a licensed adult, including 10 hours of driving at night
These requirements are in addition to the remaining drivers training requirements that you need, including 6 hours driving with an instructor and 6 hours of in-car observation with an instructor.
Once you’ve met all of the requirements above you can head to the ITD office and take the written and behind-the-wheel driving tests. If you fail, you’ll be required to wait 3 days before you can take the tests again. You’ll also be expected to bring your SIP as well as your drivers license application and fee in order to obtain your drivers license.