New Jersey Drivers Ed – Basic Requirements
It’s time for you to start working toward your New Jersey drivers license! While it can be easy to get lost in the excitement, there are some things you’ll need to keep in mind before you get on your way. But not to worry—we’ve broken it all down for you to make it as painless as possible. Read through our guide to getting your New Jersey driver’s license and you’ll feel totally prepared to get behind the wheel.
In order to ensure that teens are becoming the best drivers that they can be, New Jersey has put a graduated driver licensing program in place for young, first-time drivers. Here’s a snapshot of the driver training requirements (we’ll go over it in more detail later):
- Take a New Jersey driver education course
- Earn your learners permit
- Get an examination permit
- Obtain your provisional drivers license
- Get your full drivers license!
NJ Drivers Education - Course Overview
We want to make sure you’re well-equipped to take to the road, so you’re prepared for anything when you’re on it. That’s why we designed our New Jersey drivers ed course to be as informative as possible. Some of the things you’ll be studying include:
- Weather conditions, and how they affect driving
- How to share the road with pedestrians, bicyclists, and others
- Properly maintaining your vehicle
- Laws about alcohol and drugs that apply to driving
..and a whole lot more!
Benefits of Taking NJ Drivers Ed Online
You'd be crazy not to take online drivers ed! With all the flexibility you could possibly want, online is the way to go. Other cool features of our online course are:
- Fun graphics, animations, and videos
- Concise, easy-to-understand material
- Freedom to study whenever you want, wherever you want
- Our convenient auto-save feature—never worry about remembering where you left off!
- Brief quizzes so you can recollect what you learn
The online format is similar to our parent-taught drivers ed courses. Both types of courses make it easy on you.
Final Exam and Certificate of Completion
Your course's final exam has 50 multiple-choice questions, with a passing rate of 80%. Even if you don't pass on your first try, we've got you covered! There is no limit on how many retakes you get! Attempt the final exam over and over until you get that magic 80%!
Then, we take care of the rest. We'll promptly mail out your certificate of completion. In fact, if you finish your course by 3:00 pm central time, we'll send out your certificate that same day! Not to mention that regular mail shipping is absolutely free.
New Jersey Drivers Permit Requirements
There are three types of New Jersey drivers permits, and each corresponds with the driver's age. They are termed "Early Bird," "Young Adult," and "Adult."
To get an Early Bird road permit, you will need to:
- Be at least 16
- Pass both a written test and a vision test
- Bring a 4-point ID, such as a birth certificate
- Present proof of enrollment in a drivers ed course
- Bring your course instructor with you to the Motor Vehicle Commission Agency
- Have the written consent of your parents/guardian
- Pay the fee for the permit
You will need to have this permit for 6 months, during which you will practice supervised driving.
To get a Young Adult permit, all you have to do is:
- Be at least 17 years of age
- Pass a written exam as well as a vision exam
- Pay the fee for the permit
To earn your adult permit, you must be at least 21. Other than this requirement, the steps to get your adult New Jersey learners permit are the same as those for the young adult permit.
New Jersey Drivers License Requirements
Requirements for obtaining a New Jersey drivers license vary depending on your age/what type of permit you earn. There are two types of licenses. One of them is the probationary license. The requirements for this stage are:
- Be at least 18 years old
- Complete the supervised driving period
- Pass 6-point ID verification
- Pass a road test
- Pay the license fee
Once you have received your probationary license, you will practice unsupervised driving for a minimum of 1 year. After you have finished this 1-year period and have turned 18, you can get your basic drivers license. At this point, you will need to pass another 6-point ID verification and pay a separate fee.
Once again, some of these steps can be bypassed. If you're not sure, check with your local MVC agency.
I Drive Safely Puts You on the Road to Success
We put a special emphasis on ensuring that you're successful when you take our course. We've always got your back, and we can prove it. I Drive Safely offers:
- A 24/7 customer support team that can answer all of your questions
- The freedom to set your own schedule and pace
- A money-back guarantee
So go ahead, try us out! Sign up for your New Jersey drivers ed course with us today and start working on your drivers ed course requirements.