Louisiana Drivers Ed - Basic Requirements
So, you're ready to start heading toward that coveted Louisiana driver's license. We know this is an important milestone in your life, and we want to help you get there. To get on your way, the first thing you'll need to do is enroll in an approved Louisiana OMV drivers ed course.
In Louisiana, there are two types of driver education courses you can take, depending on your age.
If you are 15 or 16 and are applying for your Louisiana learners permit:
- You will need to take a 30-hour driver education course and complete 8 hours of behind-the-wheel training
If you are at least 17 and are applying for your permit or a first-time Class E license:
- You will take a 6-hour pre-licensing course
No matter which course you take, it will need to be approved by the Louisiana Department of Public Safety and Corrections.
Drivers Education Course Overview
With I Drive Safely's course, you can rest easy knowing you're getting all the pertinent information you'll need in order to become a safe, responsible driver. This includes laws that are specific to Louisiana, so you're fully aware of all the rules that apply to you. What you learn from drivers ed helps shape you as a driver, which is why we've made sure we've covered it all, including:
- Alcohol and drug laws that apply to driving
- Sharing the road with motorcyclists, pedestrians, etc.
- Driving in different weather conditions
- Basic vehicle maintenance
...and much more!
Online Course Benefits
Taking Louisiana drivers ed online is the fastest, easiest, most convenient way to fulfill your drivers ed course requirements! When you take your course online, there are all kinds of advantages, like:
- The freedom to study when you want, where you want—no more tedious classroom lectures!
- Material that's concise and easy to understand
- Videos, animations, and graphics to engage you as you learn
- Unlimited logins, so you can start and stop as often as want
- Brief chapter quizzes to keep the information fresh in your mind
What you learn from our Louisiana drivers ed course will stick with you, because you'll actually have a good time learning the material.
Final Exam and Certificate Processing
Once you've passed all the chapter quizzes, all that's left is your final exam! The final consists of 50 multiple-choice questions, and you'll need to score 80% in order to pass. But even if you don't pass on your first try, we've got you covered - you get unlimited retakes! You can take the exam over and over until you reach that 80%.
Upon passing, we mail your certificate of completion directly to you. If you choose our standard regular mail option, we'll send it out at absolutely no cost to you! Yep, it's totally free. And because we process our certificates three times a day, if you complete your course by 3:00 pm central time, we'll ship your certificate to you that day! It doesn't get any better than that.
Louisiana Drivers Permit Requirements
In order to apply for your Louisiana drivers permit, the following requirements must be met:
- You must be at least 15 years old.
- You must have completed the approved driver education course (or pre-licensing course, if you are 17 or older).
- You will need to go to your local Office of Motor Vehicles (OMV) office.
- Your parent or guardian must be present to sign your application and provide acceptable proof of their identity.
- You will have to present proof (in the form of one primary document and two secondary documents or two primary documents) of your own identity.
- You will need to pass a vision test, a written test, and a traffic signs test.
- You will need to pay the permit fee ($39.50) as well as an $8 service fee.
Make sure you get plenty of driving practice with a supervising adult. The principle behind this is the same as that of parent-taught drivers ed: Getting behind the wheel with someone who is knowledgeable and with whom you are comfortable helps the learning process immensely.
Louisiana Drivers License Requirements
You will be able to apply for your intermediate drivers license after:
- You have turned 16.
- You have held your Louisiana learners permit for 180 days.
A parent or guardian will need to accompany you to the OMV office to sign the necessary paperwork. In addition to your parent/guardian, you will need to bring:
- Proper forms of identification
- Money for fees (typically the road test fee is $16)
- Your learners permit
- Proof of drivers education course completion
- A vehicle to use for your road test
- You will need proof of insurance for the vehicle, and the following must be up-to-date: inspection sticker, license plates, and registration.
Once you have successfully passed your road test, and fulfilled the other requirements, you will be issued an intermediate license. You will need to hold this permit until you reach the age of 17. Once you are 17, you can apply for a full Louisiana drivers license.
I Drive Safely: The Best of the Best
At I Drive Safely, we put you first. We've worked hard to ensure that our courses offer the quality, convenience, and affordability that our customers want. With us, you'll get:
- An award-winning course that will get you on your way to your license
- Customer service available 7 days a week!
- A money-back guarantee
We've got what it takes to get you out on the road as a licensed driver. So sign up today and start knocking out your driver training requirements!