Kentucky Traffic Ticket Fines and Penalties
If you recently received a traffic ticket, you're probably feeling a little frustrated. Don't panic. It is possible to handle your Kentucky traffic ticket fines and penalties in a manner that's completely hassle-free and will avoid annoying insurance rate hikes.
Traffic Ticket Points, Fines & Penalties
Kentucky traffic ticket costs are the same whether you were pulled over in Louisville or in Lexington. In addition to the flat fee associated with your offense, Kentucky traffic tickets carry court fee surcharges. These remain consistent throughout the state, though they vary depending on your crime. A conviction for driving under the influence in Kentucky carries extremely high surcharges and the ticket costs go up if you're convicted of a second, third or fourth DUI.
- $200 - $500 first conviction
- $350 - $500 second conviction
- $500 - $1,000 third conviction
- A fourth conviction is considered a Class D felony, resulting in a minimum of 120 days in jail.
You'll find the fines and penalties associated with your ticket on the back of the citation. Traffic tickets also carry a 3-6 point value. The points associated with your ticket are added to your driving record and will remain there for 2 years. However, you do have the option to take a Kentucky traffic school class to keep the points off your record.
Avoiding an Auto Insurance Rate Increase
Insurance companies use the Kentucky point system as a way to gauge your driving habits. The points associated with just one ticket on your driving record could result in a rate increase. That's why it's important for drivers to keep an eye on their driving record. If you do get a traffic ticket in Kentucky, completing a state traffic school class will keep the points off your record. This will prevent your insurance company from seeing you made a mistake and penalizing you.
In addition, Kentucky drivers can take a traffic school class to earn an insurance discount. It's carrier-dependent, so be sure to contact your auto insurance provider to find out if you're eligible.
License Suspension, Revocation, and Cancellation
If you accumulate 6 or more points in 2 years, you could be required to take certain steps with the Kentucky Transportation Cabinet to avoid a suspended license. In addition, certain traffic violations will result in the automatic suspension of your drivers license. Driving under the influence, evading an officer, hit-and-run, and excessive speeding are all convictions that will result in a license suspension.
As a matter of fact, the Kentucky DUI laws are very strict — if you don't comply with an officer's request for a chemical test during a DUI stop, for example, your license will be confiscated on the spot and could be suspended for up to 1 year.
A suspended license is a temporary loss of driving privileges. Once your suspension period is up you may have to meet certain requirements in order to get your license back. Remember, driving with a suspended license in Kentucky is a sure-fire way to find your driving privileges revoked, or even cancelled. Multiple DUI convictions could also result in a revocation or cancellation of your drivers license. If your license is revoked, you'll have to follow court requirements in order to earn your license back.
Typically, a cancelled drivers license applies to a driver under the age of 18. A parent or legal guardian can have the circuit court clerk withdraw a teen's driving privileges. The teen will then have to wait until they are 18 years old before they can reapply for their license.
The best way to avoid Kentucky traffic ticket costs and annoying points on your record is to take a traffic school class. This can also help prevent a license suspension due to numerous tickets. It's a valuable option available to Kentucky drivers.