How It Works – Defensive Driving in Arizona
Dismissing your traffic violation doesn’t have to be as troublesome as you might think. There may be a lot of steps to complete in order to make it go away, but with our easy-to-follow guide, we’ll help you through the entire process!
How to Dismiss Your Traffic Ticket
1. Contact your court and request permission to attend a defensive driving course.
Arizona state law gives you three options upon receiving a ticket: pay the fine, take a defensive driving course, or contest the ticket. To be eligible for a defensive driving course, you’ll need to meet the following requirements:
- You must hold a valid non-commercial driver’s license. Commercial Driver’s License holders are not eligible for this course.
- 12 months must have passed since the violation date on your last traffic citation.
- You must have committed an eligible minor non-criminal moving violation [tickets that are the result of a collision involving serious injury or death are not eligible for this course]. A list of eligible violation codes may be found here.
- You must complete your course 7 days prior to your court date.
You may only attend the course for a single violation, regardless of how many you may have incurred on your citation.
2. Enroll in and complete your I Drive Safely Arizona defensive driving school course.
Please have the following documents ready when you register:
- Your traffic citation
- Your government-issued identification
Our course meets the state-required 4 hours, which you can work through at your own pace. After you pass our course, I Drive Safely will report your course completion directly to the court and send you a completion certificate for your records.
3. Check your driving record.
It’s always a good idea to make sure that you’ve received the proper credit for your Arizona online driving school course. The violation should be erased from your record, along with the points associated with it.
How to Reduce Your Insurance Premiums
1. Contact your insurance provider.
Each provider may have different eligibility requirements, and your reduction will be based on your driving history, along with other various factors. Find out what you need to do in order to qualify for a discount with your insurance provider.
2. Enroll in and complete your Arizona driving school course.
3. Submit your certificate of completion to your insurance company.
We’ll send you a completion certificate after your finish your course, and you can either mail it or hand it to your insurance agent in person. They will let you know when your reduced rates go in effect.
4. Enjoy your reduced insurance rate!