Frequently Asked Questions – Arizona Defensive Driving Course
Yes! Our Arizona defensive driving school course is state-approved by the Arizona Supreme Court to meet all court and DMV requirements.
With I Drive Safely’s online course, you get a comprehensive educational experience, all from the comfort of your own home! Access your course anytime, anywhere, and enjoy interactive features like animations, videos, and graphics. You’re in control!
Other benefits you’ll enjoy include:
- Prevent points from being added to your driving record
- Keep your insurance rate from going up due to the violation
- We send your completion information to the court for you
- We send you a certificate of completion for your records
And best of all, you learn valuable defensive driving information that lasts for a lifetime!
While permission for defensive driving is granted on a case-by-case basis, generally you will qualify if you meet the following eligibility requirements:
- You must hold a valid non-commercial driver’s license. Commercial Driver’s License holders are not eligible for this course.
- 12 months must have passed since the violation date on your last traffic citation.
- You must have committed an eligible minor non-criminal moving violation [tickets that are the result of a collision involving serious injury or death are not eligible for this course].
We have all of the eligibility requirements and steps to take for your Arizona defensive driving course listed on our How It Works page.
- I live in another state and received a traffic ticket in Arizona. Am I eligible to take this course?
Yes, you may still enroll in an Arizona defensive driving course if you are a non-resident. You must contact the court listed on your citation and inform them of your intent to take an Arizona Defensive Driving course online. Per the AZ Supreme Court, you must complete the course within 7 days of the court date listed on your citation. You do not necessarily have to come back to Arizona to take the course within state lines, but you must coordinate with the local court where you received your ticket.
The Arizona Defensive Driving course meets the state-mandated 4-hour length requirement. You may work through those 4 hours all in one day if you choose, or you may spread it out over a longer period of time. How long it takes is completely up to you!
Effective July 3rd, 2015, you may now be able to take this course once every year. To be eligible for this course, 12 months must have passed since the violation date on your last traffic citation.
No, Arizona defensive driving courses are mandated or referred by the court and therefore cannot be taken voluntarily for point reduction.
This course will dismiss one violation every twelve months. Follow the court’s directions if you have other violations listed on your ticket.
When you register, you will need to have both your traffic ticket and your government-issued ID with you so you can provide information like your drivers license number and your citation number.
Each of your 12 course chapters focuses on a single topic that pertains to Arizona driving and traffic laws. These topics include:
- Highway safety
- Alcohol- and drug-impaired driving
- State traffic laws
- Driving emergencies
- Vehicle maintenance
Yes, your final exam consists of 25 multiple-choice questions. You need to score an 80% or higher to pass, and you may retake the exam again if you need to. Per state law, you only get 2 attempts at your exam, so look out for hints that indicate important pieces of information to remember.
Each of the 12 chapters contains a quiz that reviews important content from that chapter. There are 10 questions per quiz, and you need to obtain an 80% or higher to pass onto the next chapter. The quizzes will provide you with an excellent opportunity to master the course material and prepare for your final exam. You will be provided with feedback on any incorrect answers, and you may retake your quizzes an unlimited amount of times.
Once you get to your final exam, you will encounter 25 multiple-choice questions, requiring a passing score of 80% or higher. You may retake the exam again if you need another attempt to pass. You are only allowed two (2) attempts to pass your final exam, per Arizona Supreme Court requirements.
You may take the final exam a second time if you do not obtain a passing score of 80% or higher on your first try.
This course is required by Arizona law to span 4 hours in length. To comply with this law, we (and all other online defensive driving courses) are required to place timers on each page of the course. We realize that some students may read faster than the timer will permit you to advance, but state regulations prohibit us from changing this function. The timers cannot be disabled for any reason.
While we allow you 180 days to complete your course before your account is suspended, the Arizona Supreme Court mandates that you complete your course 7 days prior to your court date.
You may request an extension from the court, but whether it is granted is entirely at the discretion of the judge.
If your deadline has passed, all you have to do is get an extension from the court. Often, you can be granted an extension over the phone, but some courts require you to appear before the judge to request permission. Call us after you have gotten your extension so we can update your account with your new information.
A full refund will be made to any student within 30 days of enrollment if they do not start the course. Once a student starts the course, they are no longer eligible for a refund, as per Arizona state law. I Drive Safely will terminate, without notice, the enrollment of any student who has not successfully completed the course within 180 days. All registration fees paid are due and refundable when the course of instruction is discontinued by I Drive Safely, preventing a student from completing the course, or the enrollment of the student was procured as a result of any misrepresentation in advertising, promotional materials of I Drive Safely, or representation made by the owner or employee of I Drive Safely. All refunds will be issued within 30 days following receipt of a permissible request for cancellation.