Every Colorado driver should become acquainted with the DMV’s processes, as it is the one-stop location to settle all identification and automobile-related matters. The seemingly endless paperwork and long lines can be daunting at first, but these become easier and smoother with time. Showing up to an office with all your materials and paperwork prepared will save much more time than if you filled out all the paperwork in person. Vehicle titles, drivers license applications, reinstatement after suspension, and driving tests are all matters handled by the DMV, so it is important to take those first steps to learn about its many processes.
Finding Your Nearest Colorado DMV Branch
The first step is to locate the DMV branch nearest you, and this is done simply by visiting the Colorado DMV branch locator. Keep in mind that drivers license stations are separate from the title/registration offices; the DMV branch locator makes that distinction for you in the first step. Prior to your visit, make sure to contact your local branch and inquire about operating hours and specific services offered, as not all branches will have the same policies.
Accessing Colorado DMV Forms
Another effective way to reduce time spent at the DMV is to be knowledgeable of its many forms. Almost every service offered requires you to fill out paperwork of some kind, and having the forms printed and filled out when you arrive at your branch will save time for you and the employees. All relevant forms can be found on the Colorado DMV website’s extensive publication library. Looking up the necessary forms beforehand also gives you the chance to look up any specific personal or vehicle details you have not memorized, so print out the ones you need and get your DMV task settled quickly on your next trip. Read about these in detail at Forms.
Colorado Driving Point System
Most states follow a system in which drivers accumulate “points” whenever they are convicted of a traffic infraction in order to encourage safe driving behavior and keep reckless drivers off the roads. Each time you receive a ticket, the DMV Colorado adds a pre-determined amount of points to your record, which can eventually lead to license suspension.
- For adults (21 and older), accumulating 12 points in 12 months, or 18 points in 24 months, will lead to revocation of driving privileges.
- For drivers aged 18-21, collecting 14 or more points will lead to suspension.
Be aware that driving without having completed the reinstatement process, even after your required date, is prohibited by law. For detailed information and examples of point violations, consult the Colorado DMV’s point suspension brochure.
Getting a Copy of Your Driving Record
You can order your driving record in person or by mail. In your request, you must include your full name, date of birth, license number, signature, and photocopy of ID. Your driving record displays all resolved and outstanding suspensions, citations, fines, accidents, points, and license classifications. Requesting a copy is the best way to keep up to date with the status of your drivers license. Your insurance company or employer may want to view your driving record at some point, which can affect cost of premiums and job opportunities, so it is wise to keep your record clean.