Car Insurance for Teen Drivers in Colorado
Getting a drivers license is exciting, but worrying about getting insured isn’t. Car insurance can be a headache, especially for teen drivers who are just starting out. But auto insurance is extremely important.
After all, there were 27,213 car crashes in the state of Colorado in 2008, the majority of which caused property damage. With numbers like these, it’s essential that every teen driver gets the right amount of coverage.
Colorado Teen Auto Insurance Requirements
Every licensed driver (including teens) must carry a minimum amount of car insurance in order to drive. The auto insurance requirements for Colorado teens according to driving laws are as follows:
- $25,000 per person for bodily injury
- $50,000 per accident for bodily injury
- $15,000 per accident for property damage.
Drivers may opt to get more coverage (and it’s recommended that you do), but at the very least, Colorado motorists must follow the “25/50/15” rule. How much insurance a driver decides to carry depends on many factors, including the cost of the vehicle that will be insured and whether the car is new or used. There are also things you can do and discounts you can take advantage of to keep your insurance premium down. When it comes to car insurance, I Drive Safely’s got you covered.