Colorado Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) Forms
Showing up to the DMV without proper knowledge of the required forms can result in a confusing, time-consuming experience. If you’re unlucky, you may need to schedule a second trip because you forgot important documents and records necessary to complete the forms. Relevant forms for every DMV task can be found in a publication library on their website, so print out the ones you need and fill them out ahead of time. Maneuvering your way around the many Colorado drivers license forms can be daunting at first, but with time and practice, you will be taking care of your DMV errands smoothly.
The Colorado Driver Handbook
All questions you may have about any driving or traffic law in Colorado can be answered using the Colorado Driver Handbook. In-depth descriptions of the drivers license acquisition process, state-specific laws, the point system, safe driving tips, and even information on organ donation can be found inside. It is prudent to keep up with this information from time to time, as even the best drivers can forget about certain processes and rules. The DMV updates the handbook regularly, so it is a valuable asset to study for your drivers license test.
Drive Time Log Sheet (Form DR 2324)
If you are applying for a drivers license for the first time, you must have your parent, grandparent, or legal guardian fill out a Colorado Drive Time Log Sheet (Form DR 2324). This form proves that you have held a permit for 12 months, are at least 16 years old, and have completed the minimum hour requirements. Be sure to bring your parent or guardian with you to the DMV, as he or she must be present to sign the form after assessment.
Title and/or Registration Application (Form DR 2395)
One of the most important DMV forms is the Title Registration Application (Form DR 2395). This form is required whenever you purchase a new or used automobile, and also when you are trying to sell your vehicle or transfer ownership. This process will finalize the transaction between buyer and seller. You will need specific personal and vehicle records, such as the VIN number. You must also keep your vehicle re-registered annually with the DMV, but this is a fairly simple process. Titles and registrations are considered so important by the DMV that negligence of these tasks could lead to penalties, so be sure to keep your car registered.
Persons with Disabilities Parking Privileges Application (Form DR 2219)
If you meet one of the six handicap criteria, including mobility, respiratory, and cardiac impairment, you qualify to park in designated disability lots. Once acquired, the placard must be on display on your car at all times. The parking privilege is especially convenient for crowded areas such as shopping malls and hospitals. You and your physician must fill out the Parking Privileges Application (Form DR 2219); he or she must describe and verify the nature and length of your condition. Upon assessment, the DMV will grant you a placard for however long the doctor deems necessary.
Application for Reinstatement (Form DR 2870)
If your driver’s license was suspended or revoked, you will need to fill out an Application for Reinstatement (Form DR 2870) to regain your driving privileges. After completing all of the reinstatement requirements, mail the form (with fees and required documents) to the Department of Revenue. Be aware there are steep financial penalties associated with suspension, so try your best to keep a clean driving record. If your license was suspended for more severe reasons such as a DUI, you may need to settle legal issues as well.