Questions about Parent-Taught Drivers Ed in Texas (FAQs)
Texas Learners Permit and Drivers License Information
In order to get your Texas learners license, you must complete 32 hours of formal drivers education. I Drive Safely’s online Texas drivers ed courses fulfill that requirement. You need to be at least 15 years old to get your Texas learners permit; you need to be at least 14 years old to do this course.
The Texas online teen drivers ed program is a state-mandated 32 hours long. The information in our course is broken up into 12 units, each covering a specific topic regarding driving in Texas. After you complete each chapter, you’ll be given a short multiple-choice quiz. At the end of the course, you will be given a 50-question final exam. You will successfully complete the course by passing with an 80% or greater.
- What’s the difference between the Texas parent-taught drivers ed course and the Texas TEA/TDLR-approved drivers ed course?
In parent-taught drivers ed, the class is led by your parent(s). You will complete 32 hours of online instruction, and your in-car driving lessons, all with your parent or guardian. Our DPS/TDLR-approved drivers ed course is still done online, but with the guidance of our team of experienced driving instructors. Your parent or guardian does not do the driving instruction; you’ll need to complete 44 total hours of supervised driving practice. This includes 7 hours of behind-the-wheel instruction with a licensed driving school and 7 hours of in-car observation, along with an additional 30 hours of supervised driving practice, 10 of which must be done at night.
In order to be an instructor for your teen, you must:
- Be a parent, grandparent, or other legal guardian of the teen.
- Have held a valid Texas drivers license for the past 3 years without any suspensions or revocations.
- Have 6 or fewer points on your driving record.
- Have never committed a felony driving violation, such as DWI or negligent homicide.
- If you have just moved to the state of Texas, you must provide a copy of your driving record from your previous state of residence to confirm your eligibility.
Yes – our online course is DPS/TDLR-approved and meets all of the state’s requirements needed to get your Texas learners permit.
You may work on our Texas online drivers ed course at your own pace; keep in mind, however, that the state of Texas prohibits participants from finishing the course in less than 16 calendar days.
No worries. You’re allowed to take the final as many times as you need to pass.
As soon as you complete the course, we will send you your certificate of completion via email or FedEx, your choice.
You may make your payment online by using a credit card or bank debit card with a Visa/MasterCard/AMEX/Discover logo. If you are uncomfortable submitting your payment online, you can contact our customer support representatives to make your payment over the phone.
We’re always here to help! We have a dedicated customer support staff that’s available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. You can email them or connect online via live chat.
Texas Learners Permit and Drivers License Information
If you’re 16 years of age, you must:
- Apply for a learners permit and hold it for at least 1 year
- Complete 44 hours of behind-the-wheel training (including 10 at night)
- Before you take your behind the wheel roadway exam (driver test), you must register and complete the Impact Texas Teen Driving (ITTD) Course. This is a new law that is in effect as of September 1, 2015.
Once the ITTD course is complete, you will receive an email with a certificate. When you take the driver test, be sure to print out and bring the certificate to the DPS within 90 days. If you do not complete this step, the certificate will expire and you will have to retake the ITTD course.
- Pass the DPS road test
If you’re older than 18 but younger than 25, you will still need to complete a drivers education course. At the driver license office, you will need to supply the proper documentation as well as your application forms. You will pay the applicable fee, have your thumbprints and photo taken, and you will be required to take and pass a vision test, a knowledge exam, and a driving test (unless you are exempt from these).
If you are 15- 18 years of age, you must get a learners permit and have it for six months before earning your drivers license.
If you are between 18 and 25 and have never been licensed, you don’t have to get a learners permit, but you are still required to take and pass a Texas adult drivers education course.
How do I apply for a Texas learner license?
There are a few things you’ll need to get your Texas learners permit.
- AGE: You must be between 15 and 18 years old to apply for your permit.
- 6-Hour Permit Qualification Certificate
- Application for Texas Driver License, DL-14a
- Parental Driver Education Affidavit, DL-90a
- Classroom Instruction Record, DL-91a
- The required fee for Instruction Permit Issuance
- Proof of registration and insurance (if you own the vehicle)
- Proof of identity
You license will be mailed to you within 60 days of passing your road test. In the meantime, you will be handed a temporary printed license. Be sure you don’t lose it!
We’re always here to help! We have a dedicated customer support team that’s available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. Email us or call us and we’ll answer your questions promptly.