Parent Taught Drivers Ed in Texas
Learning to drive can be an exhilarating first step toward freedom – but it can also be a scary process for both teens and parents! That’s why our parent-taught drivers ed course is designed to make learning to drive as easy and stress-free as possible!
Why Choose I Drive Safely for Parent Taught Drivers Ed?
There are a lot of choices out there for drivers ed. Parents and teens choose our course for the following reasons:
- It’s efficient. Teens can start our course today and meet the requirements to get their permit in just six hours!
- It’s convenient. No classroom necessary! Teens can take the course online on their schedule.
- It’s easy to understand. We make learning fast and easy.
- It’s affordable. Parents save an average of $300-900 on instructor fees with our parent-taught course.
- It’s fun! Our videos keep things interesting and fast-paced.
Is Texas Parent Taught Drivers Ed DPS-Approved?
Our drivers ed course meets (and exceeds) the stringent requirements of the Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS) and the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation (TDLR). In addition to the driving content we are required to teach, our course covers important topics to help keep teen drivers safe, including:
- Reducing risks on the road
- The dangers of texting and driving
- Avoiding aggressive drivers
- The effects of drugs and alcohol on driving
- State laws on distracted driving
You can trust that we give your teen everything they need to know to be safe, responsible drivers.
Texas Parent-taught Drivers Ed Is a Great Fit for Teens’ Busy Schedules
You and your teen are busy! With our online course, your teen can take drivers ed when and where they like. There’s no need to take time out of your day to drive your teen to a driving school and no worries about trying to fit an in-person drivers ed class into an already packed schedule.
How Does Parent-taught Drivers Ed in Texas Work?
The Texas drivers ed course is a state-mandated 32 hours long and is made up of two components:
- The classroom portion (32 hours). Our online course makes this part of drivers ed easy and convenient. Students can learn anywhere on a a phone, computer, or tablet at their own pace. The TDLR requires that the drivers ed course be at least 32 hours, and stipulates that it must be completed in a minimum of 16 days. Our course is designed so that students are only able to learn for a maximum of two hours a day. This ensures they are truly learning the content and not just clicking through to the end as fast as possible. The curriculum is broken up into 12 units, each covering a specific topic regarding driving in Texas. After your teen completes each unit, they’ll be given a short multiple-choice quiz. At the end of the course, they will be given a 50-question final exam. They will successfully complete the course by passing with an 80% or higher.
- The behind-the-wheel driving observation and practice (44 hours). Once your teen has completed the first six hours of the online course, they can take their permit test and go to the DPS to get their learners permit. Once they have a permit, they can get in the driver’s seat and start learning to drive. That’s where you come in! In parent-taught driver’s ed, the parent typically is the one to guide their child through the steps of the behind-the-wheel portion of drivers ed.
The behind-the-wheel portion is 44 hours and breaks down in the following way:
- 7 hours of observation
- 7 hours of behind-the-wheel instruction
- 30 hours of behind-the-wheel practice
What Does Parent-Taught Mean?
Parent-taught simply means that you (or another adult you designate) will be the one to guide your teen through the required behind-the-wheel driving practice. You probably did this with your own parent when you were learning to drive. They just didn’t get the official title of “Parent Instructor.”
If teaching your child to drive feels overwhelming, know that you have a few options:
- You can enroll in our parent-taught drivers ed course, but still choose to pay for driving lessons at an in-person driving school to take care of the 7 hours of observation and 7 hours of behind-the-wheel instruction. Most driving schools offer this option, but you’ll need to check with your local driving schools to find out how this works. If you go this route, a parent or designated adult would still need to do the 30 hours of behind-the-wheel driving practice with your teen. The 30 hours of driving practice is not typically a service that driving schools offer.
- You can be the parent instructor for all 44 hours of driving observation, instruction, and practice.
Who Can Be a Parent-taught Drivers Ed Driving Instructor?
For parent-taught drivers ed, the driving instructor can be any of the following:
- Foster Parent
- Legal guardian
- A parent, legal guardian, or a judge of a court with jurisdiction over the student can designate a person to instruct the course who is at least 25 years old and have seven years of driving experience
The instructor must have held a valid Texas driver license for the past three years. If the instructor held an out-of-state drivers license, they will need to provide a copy of their driving record from the last three years.
- Have a conviction of criminally negligent homicide
- Have a conviction of driving while intoxicated in the last seven years
- Have had their driver license suspended, revoked, or forfeited for traffic related violations in the past three years
- Have had six or more points assigned to their driver license
You can verify your eligibility to be an instructor by using the DPS Online Driver Record Request System.
Why Many Parents Prefer to Do the Driving Instruction
No one is more invested in a teen’s safety than their parent. As the parent driving instructor, you can ensure your teen has the skills and knowledge they need to be a safe driver. And that one-on-one time in the car with your teen is priceless! Teaching your teen to drive is a great opportunity to bond and connect.
What Teens Love about Parent-taught Drivers Ed in Texas
Teens like parent-taught drivers ed because it means they can practice driving on their own schedule. And because they aren’t depending on a drivng school for lessons, teens can practice driving as much as they need to feel like they are ready to get their license. Additionally, many teens are anxious about driving and may feel more relaxed learning from a parent than from a stranger.
Questions? We’re Here for You!
From live customer support to a database full of instructional resources for parents and teens alike, I Drive Safely is here to help guide you and your teen through the process of learning to drive and getting a license.