Teen girl taking her drivers ed test in Texas
Texas TEA-Approved Drivers Ed

The Standard 32-Hour Course for Teens 14-17

  • Approved by the Texas Education Agency (TEA)
  • Best online drivers education money can buy
  • Block or concurrent method available
  • Easy and convenient for your schedule
  • Self-paced course with instructor interactions
Course Details

Questions about Teen Drivers Education in Texas (FAQs)

Paying for Your Drivers Ed Course

System Requirements

About Texas Online Drivers Education

Texas Learners License Requirements

Texas Drivers License Requirements

After You Get Your Texas Drivers License

Paying for Your Drivers Ed Course

  1. How do I make payment?

You may make your payment online using a credit card or bank debit card with a Visa/MasterCard/AMEX/Discover logo. If you are uncomfortable submitting your payment online, you can contact our customer support representatives to make your payment over the phone. We also accept Paypal.

  1. What is your cancellation/refund policy?

When the contract is terminated within 72 hours the student is eligible for a full refund minus an administrative fee, unless the student has completed the course and accepted any certificates during this period. A prorated refund will be available for any unused time for any unused tuition not received by the student, less processing fee. All refunds will be issued within 30 days following receipt of a permissible request for enrollment cancellation. No refunds will be available after a period of 6 months after the date of enrollment or once the 32-hour certificate has been issued.

In the event of cancellation, by student or course provider, a termination of the enrollment shall include a cancellation of certificates by use of the DL-42 (Appendix A) document, if applicable.

  1. What is I Drive Safely's privacy/security policy?

I Drive Safely does not release information to third parties, or sell information.

 

System Requirements

  1. What is required for me to take this course?

You will need to have the following in order to successfully complete your course.

  • PC or MAC computer or Windows tablet
  • Software: Adobe Flash Player
  • Adobe Reader
  • Minimum Internet connection speed of 512k, and recommended Internet speed of 1+ Mbps
  • Internet browser supporting java/javascript: Internet ExplorerGoogle ChromeFirefox, Safari, or other browsers of equal or greater functionality
  • Make sure to close other tabs, browsers, and programs while viewing course content. It may also help to hardwire your Internet connection, instead of using a wireless network connection.

About Texas Online Drivers Education

  1. Is this course approved?

Yes! This course is fully approved by the Texas Education Agency (TEA) to fulfill the classroom portion of your driver training.

  1. What will the course cover?

Your Texas online drivers ed course will teach you all the essentials of driving. Just a few of the topics it covers include:

  • Texas-specific traffic laws
  • Road signs, signals, and road markings
  • Defensive driving techniques
  • The impact of alcohol and drugs on driving
  • The dangers of distracted driving

… and more!

  1. What are the age requirements for the course?

You must be at least 14 years old and younger than 18 years of age to take the course. You must be 15 to apply for your learners permit and 16 to get your drivers license. First-time drivers between the ages of 18 and 24 may take our TEA-approved Texas Adult Drivers Ed course.

  1. How do I sign up for the course?

Simply follow the instructions in the I Drive Safely signup process, and we’ll guide you through the process every step of the way.

  1. What happens once I sign up for the course?

After signing up for the course, you are automatically assigned to a class with an instructor who will grade your work and be there to answer any questions you have.

  1. How long will it take to complete?

The course is 32 hours in length, and cannot be completed in fewer than 16 days. You are allowed to work on the classroom portion of the course for no more than 2 hours a day.

  1. How Is the course graded?

Your course will be graded based on:

  • End-of-unit assessments
    • At the end of each unit, there is an assessment on which you must earn a score of at least 70%.
    • You will not be allowed to move on to the next unit until you pass your end-of-unit assessment.
  • 23 drive plan assignments
    • These assignments are reviewed and graded by your online instructor.
    • They are given either a pass or fail grade.
    • You can re-submit a failed drive plan assignment until you pass.
  1. Is there a final exam?

No, there is no final exam. You will only be graded on your end-of-unit assessments and drive plan assignments.

  1. Is there a behind-the-wheel component?

Yes, in addition to the online course, Texas teens are required to enroll in and complete the following through a licensed driver training school:

  • 7 hours of in-car observation
  • 7 hours of behind-the-wheel instruction

Teens must also complete 30 hours of supervised behind-the-wheel practice (10 of which must be at night) with a licensed driver who is over the age of 21.

  1. What are affiliate driver training schools?

Affiliate driver training schools are licensed behind-the-wheel schools that have partnered with I Drive Safely. I Drive Safely will provide you with a list of these quality driver training schools from our Preferred Partner Network that will guide you through your behind-the-wheel training or you can choose your own and register that school in the My Account Profile section of your drivers education course.

  1. Can I get a discount from my automobile insurance company?

By taking this course, you may qualify for a car insurance discount. Be sure to contact your insurance company to find out.

  1. When will I receive my certificate of completion?

Your completion certificate will be sent to your driving school or parent/guardian once you successfully complete the course.

Texas Learners License Requirements

  1. Do I have to take a written exam to get my learners license?

Yes. You must visit your local DPS office to take your written exam.

  1. When do I have to take the written exam?

You become eligible to take your written test once you have completed the first two chapters of your drivers ed course (at which time you will be mailed a course certificate that you will need to bring with you to the DPS). However, I Drive Safely strongly recommends that you wait to take your DPS licensing written exam until you finish the first three course chapters.

  1. Which forms do I need to bring to the DPS to get my learners license?

When you go to apply for your learners license, you will need to bring the following with you to the DPS:

  • Your Texas driver education certificate (Form DE-964) (6-hour form)
  • Your original state-issued birth certificate
  • Your original Social Security card
  • Verification of enrollment (VOE) form –– this is issued by your school’s attendance officer
  • Affidavit of Texas residency (Form DL-5)
  • Form DL-14A signed by your parent
  • Two utility bills in your parents’ names. The address on these must match the address on your DL-14A form.
  • $16 application fee
  1. Am I allowed to drive alone when I get my Texas learners license?

No. You must have a licensed driver who is at least 21 years of age or older with you in the passenger seat of the vehicle at all times when you are driving with a learners license.

  1. Can I drive in another state with my learners license?

Yes and no. The state of Texas allows you to drive in another state with your learners license. However, certain states do not let out-of-state individuals with permits drive there. These states are Arizona, Hawaii, New Hampshire, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, and Vermont. Texas drivers with learners licenses may not drive in Washington, D.C. either. It’s always smart to research the driving laws in the state you will be visiting before you go.

  1. How long must I hold my learners license before I can get my drivers license?

If you are under the age of 18, you must hold your learner license for at least 6 months before you may apply for your drivers license. You will also need to have completed both the classroom and behind-the-wheel portions of driver training before you can apply.

  1. Do I have to apply for a Texas learners license if I am over 18?

No, you do not need a learners license if you are over 18. However, if you are under 25, you are still required to complete an approved drivers education course.

Texas Drivers License Requirements

  1. How many hours of supervised driving practice must I complete before I can get my drivers license?

With the TEA-approved online course, you must complete 30 hours of supervised driving practice (including 10 hours of night driving) before you can earn a drivers license. This is in addition to 14 hours completed with a licensed instructor.

  1. Will I need to take a driving exam at a drivers license office to get my drivers license?

Yes, all students who wish to get a Texas drivers license must take an in-car driving test, no matter where they took their drivers education course. You may be exempt from the written exam if you are over the age of 18.

NOTE: Effective September 1, 2015, all prospective Texas drivers age 16-24 must complete a Texas-DPS hosted Impact Texas Teen Drivers (ITTD) course before taking their road test.

  1. What is the Impact Texas Teen Drivers (ITTD) Program?

The Impact Texas Teen Drivers (ITTD) Program is a brand new course initiated by the Texas Department of Public Safety. Effective September 1, 2015, all prospective Texas drivers age 16-24 are required to take this free 2-hour streaming video course before taking their behind-the-wheel road test. 

  1. Do I receive a certificate of completion for the ITTD course?

Yes; upon completion you will be sent a certificate that must be presented at the time of your road test. It’s important to note that your certificate expires in 90 days; if you fail to take your road test within that time, you will be required to complete the course again.

  1. What will I need to bring to the drivers license office to get a drivers license?

First and foremost, you must be at least 16 years of age and have held your learner’s license for a minimum of 6 months before you can take your driving exam and get your first-time drivers license. When you’re ready, make sure to bring the following documents with you to the DPS:

  • Your learners license
  • Your I Drive Safely course completion certificate
    - This must be signed by your instructor of record, the school director, and your parent or guardian.
  • You ITTD course completion certificate
  • Proof of identity, Social Security number, U.S. citizenship/lawful presence status, and Texas residency
  • Verification of Enrollment and Attendance (VOE) form
  • Your vehicle’s proof of registration and insurance
  • $16 provisional license fee

You will need to complete an application for a drivers license and pass a driving skills exam. After you have passed your driving skills exam, you will be issued your provisional drivers license! Congratulations!

  1. How do I get my drivers license if I am over 18?

If you are older than 18 but younger than 25, you will still need to complete a drivers education course in order to get a license. At the drivers license office, you will need to provide the proper documentation as well as your application forms. You will then pay the required fee, have your thumbprints and photo taken, and you will need to take and pass a vision test, a knowledge exam, and a driving test (unless you are exempt from these).

After You Get Your Texas Drivers License

  1. Can I drive my friends after I get my provisional drivers license?

If you are under the age of 18 and hold a provisional license, you may only drive 1 passenger under the age of 21 who is not a family member.

  1. What is the difference between a permanent and a provisional license?

A provisional license is a “standard” license for those who are under 18. You must have held a learners license or a minor restricted drivers license for 6 months and be 16 years of age in order to get a provisional license.

Under the Graduated Driver License program, provisional license holders have the following restrictions:

  • They cannot drive a motor vehicle with more than one passenger under 21 who is not a family member.
  • They cannot drive between midnight and 5:00 a.m. unless operation of the vehicle is necessary for the driver to work, attend or participate in a school-related activity, or due to a medical emergency.
  • They are prohibited from using a wireless communication device while driving, including hands-free devices, until they turn 18, except in case of emergency.

If they are accompanied by a licensed driver 21 and over in the front seat, none of those restrictions apply. These restrictions remain in effect for 12 months following the license issuance date or when the driver turns 18, whichever comes first. A provisional drivers license expires on their 18th birthday, and must be renewed in order to remove the “provisional” designation and obtain a permanent license.

  1. Is it possible to lose your license?

Yes. If you have been cited for a DUI infraction, and/or have a major accident/traffic violation, your license may be revoked.

  1. Is there a "zero tolerance" rule for teens?

In the state of Texas, if you are under the age of 21:

  • It is illegal to purchase beer, wine, or hard liquor.
  • It is against the law to carry an alcoholic beverage in your car unless your parent accompanies you.
  • If you are convicted of DUI, the court can seize your vehicle for up to six months. You will have to pay a storage fee to retain it.
  • If convicted of a first DUI, you may have to spend time in jail and pay a fine. The DMV must revoke your drivers license for one year or until you are 18, whichever period is longer. You must show proof of insurance, proof of completion for the educational component of a licensed DUI program, and pay a DMV reissue fee.