Getting a driver's license comes with a lot of responsibility. To make sure new drivers are ready for the road, the Lone Star State requires driver's ed for anyone under the age of 25. Texas driver's ed courses come in two main types based on the age of the driver:
Teen Drivers: Minors age 14-17 must take a 32-hour course and pass a road test. A driver must be at least 15 to obtain a learner license after six hours of coursework. Also, drivers must be at least 16 and have had a learner license for six months to take the road test.
Young Adult Drivers: Drivers age 18-24 must take a six-hour course and pass a road test.
Online Driver's Ed, Texas-Style
Texas online driver's ed is a great option for beginners to learn the rules of the road. The Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation (TDLR) offers its seal of approval to online courses that meet or exceed all state requirements for classroom hours and depth of content. Courses cover important safety information all drivers should know, plus a detailed look at Texas traffic laws, street signage, speed limits, and other state regulations.
For teens, online driving school in Texas consists of an initial six-hour course that prepares students to take and pass their learner license exam. With a learner license in hand, teens are ready to log driving practice hours on the road under their parents’ supervision. As they do their road work, they also continue with 26 further hours of online coursework.
For adults under 25 years of age, online driver's ed in Texas is a simple, six-hour course. Once the course is complete and adult learners pass a written exam, they are able to move directly to the road test and licensure — no additional coursework required. New drivers have 90 days to get their full license after receiving their Adult Drivers Ed Certificate.
How to Sign Up for IDriveSafely.com Courses
IDriveSafely.com courses are fully TDLR compliant, and we offer two types of online learning for aspiring drivers:
Texas Parent-Taught Drivers Education: A 32-hour course for teen drivers age 14-17. This course prepares new drivers for the learner license exam and helps parents work with their teens to thoroughly teach behind-the-wheel skills before they get their full license.
Texas Adult Drivers Education: A six-hour course for new drivers age 18-24. This affordable course is fully online for the ultimate in scheduling flexibility.
Once you've chosen the right course based on your age, you can sign up with just a few clicks at our Texas online driving course main page. It’s fast and easy!
The Benefits of Online Drivers Ed
Why sign up for an online driving course? Online courses are:
Safe. It’s easy to practice social distancing online, and parents can feel secure knowing their children are practicing in the family car rather than a stranger’s vehicle.
Convenient. For busy adults — and teens with shorter attention spans — online courses allow for customized scheduling. Take it whenever you want, and feel free to break the sessions up into smaller bites.
Efficient. When you take an IDriveSafely.com course, you don’t have to take a Texas DPS written test in person. Instead, your passing score on the course exam gets passed along. So skip the line and take the test from the comfort of your own home.
Ready to get started? Start your online driving course today!