If you’re between the ages of 18 and 24 and are a first-time driver’s license applicant in Texas, you must successfully complete the six-hour Texas Adult Driver Education course before you can apply for your license and driving exam. This adult driver’s education course is an added safety measure required by the Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS). The course you take must be approved by the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation (TDLR). Here are a few important facts you should know about this class, including how long the certificate is actually valid for.
How Long Your Adult Driver's Education Certificate Will Last
After successful completion of the course and passing the final exam, you'll get a Texas adult driver education course certificate, which is good for 90 days. If you do not apply for your license and pass the driving test within that time, you’ll need to retake the class and get a new certificate.
For convenience and added availability for those with busy schedules, there are TDLR-approved online course options for the class. Upon completion of an online course, you'll receive your certificate via mail, which usually takes between 5 to 7 days to receive, or you can pay a fee for expedited mail or an email certificate.
It’s also important to note that you must complete the course within two years of paying for it.
About the Six-Hour Adult Driver’s Education Class
The adult driver’s education course covers a variety of topics, including:
Driver’s license requirements.
Traffic control devices.
The effects of alcohol and drugs on driving.
Distracted driving situations and consequences.
How to cooperate with other roadway users.
“Many of us start driving, thinking we have the best tools in hand, but there’s always something you can learn from classes and furthering your education,” added Jacob Smith, program manager for transportation safety at the National Safety Council.
Additional Certification Needed
In addition to the six-hour class, you must also view the one-hour free Impact Texas Young Drivers (ITYD) informational video about the dangers of distracted driving. You'll get a certificate for this course as well, and it also expires in 90 days, after which you’ll need to watch the video again and receive a new certificate to apply for your driver’s license and take the road test.
What Other Requirements Are There to Get a Texas Driver’s License?
Once you’ve completed the classes and received your certificates (both for the six-hour course and the ITYD video), then you’ll need to fill out an application (Form DL-14A) before visiting a DPS location for a driver’s test. You may complete the driver’s test at the DPS office or through an approved third-party provider. Check with DPS for which providers the agency has approved.
When you go to the DPS office, you’ll also need to provide documents to verify:
Your Social Security number.
Proof of insurance.
Vehicle registration (if not an owner, you sign a form indicating that).
If you are between the ages of 18 and 24 and have held a valid driver’s license in another state, you can surrender that driver’s license and apply for a Texas license. You do not need to take a driving test.
For more information about getting a driver’s license in Texas, visit our Frequently Asked Questions page about requirements for licensure.