Adult Drivers Ed Texas – Frequently Asked Questions
- At what age do I need to take an adult drivers ed course instead of a teen course?
- Am I required to take drivers ed, or can I just get my license when I turn 18?
- Do I have to take this course if I'm 25 or older?
- Is your course approved?
- What's the difference between an adult drivers ed course and a defensive driving course?
- How long is the course?
- What will I learn in an adult drivers ed course?
- What's the difference between an online adult drivers ed course and a classroom course?
- Is there a final exam?
- If I pass the final exam, do I have to take a written exam at the DPS?
- How do I get my drivers license?
- How to get a Texas drivers license over 25?
- What do I have to do to get my license at age 18 in Texas?
- Is there a time limit to complete this course?
- What's the certificate of completion process? How long will it take to get my certificate?
- In Texas, do I have to take drivers ed if I am 18?
- How do you know it's me taking the course?
- Do I receive a certificate of completion for the ITYD course?
- What is Roadside Assistance?
- I have questions about my Roadside Assistance. Who should I contact?
- How do I cancel my Roadside Assistance?
First-time drivers age 18 and up will need to take the 6-hour adult drivers education course, instead of the teen course. The teen drivers ed course is for students ages 15-17 and 1/2.
You cannot get your drivers license under the age of 25 without having first completed a state-approved drivers education program. It is mandatory for all Texas adults ages 18-24.
Drivers ed is not required for first-time adult drivers age 25 or above. However, it does give you a thorough preparation for the driving environment that you simply cannot get by simple observation or reading through a drivers handbook. Plus, if you take your course online, you don’t have to take a written exam at the DPS!
Yes! Our online adult driver education course is 100% approved by the TDLR, and meets all requirements for a Texas drivers license over 25.
An adult drivers ed course includes state-mandated curriculum that qualifies you to earn your Texas drivers license. A defensive driving course is intended for drivers who already have their licenses and have been required to complete a course for ticket dismissal or point reduction, or to receive a discount on their insurance. A defensive driving course is not a substitute for adult drivers ed.
This Texas adult drivers ed course is 6 hours long, as required by the state. You may work through those 6 hours at your own pace and around your schedule. So if you wish, you can complete the course in a single sitting, or you may spread it out over a few separate study sessions.
This course teaches you the essential skills associated with safe driving and being a responsible member of the Texas driving community. You will be instructed in basic road maneuvers and behaviors, Texas road regulations and driving laws, traffic signs and signals, as well as defensive driving techniques and hazard prevention skills to keep you and your fellow motorists safe.
You do not have to complete any behind-the-wheel training as an adult driver; you must simply complete and pass this course, and take your in-car driving test at the DPS to earn your license.
The curriculum for each of these course formats is exactly the same – however, taking your course online is much more convenient. You have the option of studying from any computer, instead of sitting in a designated classroom, and you may choose to work whenever it best fits your schedule.
Yes. The final exam consists of 30 questions, with 15 pertaining to road signs and 15 covering road rules. You must pass the exam with a score of 70% or higher, and you are allowed 3 attempts to pass. Your online final exam also counts as your written licensing exam at the DPS.
No! Your online final exam functions as your written DPS licensing exam. After you pass the course, and complete the ITYD course , simply bring your certificate of completion with you to the DPS. You may then take your road test and earn your drivers license!
After you pass your course, complete the ITYD process, then make an appointment for your road test at the DPS. Then you simply take your certificate of completion from your adult drivers education course to the Texas DPS, take both vision and hearing exams, and take your road test. You’ll have your license in no time!
If you’re over 25 years old, you don’t need a certificate from an adult drivers ed course. Just make an appointment for a Texas learners permit over 25 at the DPS. There, you will take your written licensing exam, and vision and hearing tests, before getting behind the wheel for your road test.
An easy way to bypass the licensing exam, however, is to take an adult drivers ed course anyway. Your final exam for the course replaces your written exam at the DPS, making it much easier to pass.
If you are applying for your first Texas driver license, you must follow these steps:
- Visit your local Texas DPS location.
- Provide appropriate documents to verify the following: identity, Texas residency, U.S. citizenship or lawful presence status, and Social Security number. For details on which documents are acceptable, visit the Texas DPS website.
- Complete the “Application for Texas Driver License or Identification Card” form.
- Supply either of these two options:
- Proof of Texas vehicle registration (if you are a new Texas resident) and proof of financial responsibility for each vehicle you own.
- A statement that affirms that you do not own a motor vehicle.
- Pay the required fees.
- Pass both a knowledge test and a driving test (unless you are exempt).
Keep in mind that all applicants under the age of 25 in Texas must pass a driver education course and complete the DPS ITYD course before they may apply for their first driver license.
You must complete your course within 180 days of payment. This course meets the 6-hour minimum required by the state.
As soon as you complete your course, we process your information so that we can get your certificate of completion emailed to you.
Yes, all applicants for a first-time driver license in Texas under the age of 25 must successfully complete a drivers ed course.
As per state regulations, we verify your identity through personal validation questions asked throughout the course.
Yes; upon completion DPS will send you a certificate that must be presented at the time of your road test. It’s important to note that your certificate expires in 90 days; if you fail to take your road test within that time, you will be required to complete the ITYD course again.
At I Drive Safely, we are passionate about creating safe drivers, and it’s with your safety in mind that we teamed up with Allstate Roadside Services to provide I Drive Safely students with one month of free roadside assistance. A great deal and peace of mind? It doesn’t get much better than that.
Here’s how it works:
- Sign up for your I Drive Safely Drivers Ed or Defensive Driving course.
- During checkout, be sure to opt in to your free trial of Roadside Assistance. This will set you up with one free month of roadside assistance. Please keep in mind that this enrollment opportunity is only available during checkout – don’t miss out! After your trial ends, your card will be charged $5/month, and you can cancel at any time.
- Hit the road with peace of mind knowing you are covered with emergency roadside assistance.
What you’ll get:
- Roadside coverage available 24/7, anywhere in the United States
- Anyone in the I Drive Safely driver’s family can use it!
- Digital tools to help you get the right service fast
- Towing, fuel delivery, lockout service, and more!
- For more information about the benefits involved, check out our terms and conditions here.
For more details, check our Terms and Conditions here.
Got more questions? Contact our dedicated I Drive Safely Roadside Assistance line:
Contact our dedicated I Drive Safely Roadside Assistance line:
If you need to use your Roadside Assistance Benefits, contact Allstate Roadside Services directly at 1-855-520-3691.
If you would like to cancel your Roadside Assistance, simply contact our dedicated Roadside Assistance agents.