Frequently Asked Questions for Online Drivers Ed in Florida
- What is the drug and alcohol course? Is it the same as the TLSAE?
- How does I Drive Safely’s Florida Drug and Alcohol course work?
- Does the Florida TLSAE Drug and Alcohol course satisfy DHSMV requirements?
- What is the parent-teen driving skills guide?
- What if I don’t pass the Florida drivers ed final exam?
- How soon will I receive my certificate of completion?
The drug and alcohol course is also known as the Florida TLSAE (Traffic Law and Substance Abuse course). It’s the state-mandated Florida drivers education program that all teens must complete in order to earn a Florida learners permit. It teaches you the essential topics associated with safe and responsible driving, along with the dangers of abusing drugs and alcohol.
The requirements for getting a Florida drivers license for ages 16 and up include completing a Florida drug and alcohol course and passing a written driving exam. The Florida TLSAE Drug and Alcohol course is a state-mandated 4 hours long. The online course and test may only be taken by students between the ages of 15 and 17. You can take either course at your own pace. Once you’ve passed the final exam, you can apply for your Florida learners permit.
Yes. Our 4-hour TLSAE online course is DHSMV-approved and meet all the requirements needed to obtain your Florida first-time learners permit.
Parents/guardians are required to supervise the 50 hours their teens need for behind-the-wheel training. Our Florida DHSMV-approved parent-teen driving skills guide covers all the necessary driving skills your teen needs to know. In addition, the final page of the guide is a form you will need to fill out and have notarized or be signed in the presence of a DHSMV examiner.
No worries! You’re allowed unlimited retakes on the final exam for free – you’re practically guaranteed to pass.
We report your course completion to the Florida DHSMV for you. The process usually takes less than 24 hours. If you would like a copy of your certificate of completion for your own records, you can purchase one during signup.
Florida Learners Permit and Drivers License Information
- Is it necessary for me to get a learners permit?
- What do I need to do to get my Florida learners permit?
- What do I need to do to get a Florida drivers license?
- Are there any restrictions to having a Florida graduated operators license?
- How long will it take to have my license mailed to me after I pass the road test?
- What is Roadside Assistance?
- I have questions about my Roadside Assistance. Who should I contact?
- How do I cancel my Roadside Assistance?
Florida Learners Permit and Drivers License Information
If you are 15 – 17 years of age, you must get a learners permit and have it for one year (without any traffic violations) before earning your drivers license.
To get your Florida learners permit, you’ll need to provide:
- One primary form of identification such as:
- Certified United States birth certificate issued by a government agency. Hospital birth certificates cannot be accepted.
- Valid United States passport
- Certificate of naturalization
- Proof of date of birth
- One Secondary form of identification which may include:
- School record stating date of birth, which must contain the registrar’s signature
- Baptism certificate, which shows date of birth and the place of baptism
- Family Bible record or birth announcement in a baby book
- An insurance policy on the customer’s life which has been in force for at least two years and has the month, day and year of birth
- Proof of Social Security number which may include:
- Social Security card
- Tax return
- W-2 form
- Pay check
- School record
- Proof of residential address
- Proof that you have taken and passed a Florida TLSAE course, or a license from any state/county
- A Florida DHSMV parental consent form, which should either be signed by a parent in the presence of a drivers license examiner or notarized if the parent/guardian will not be present.
- If you are an unmarried minor (under the age of 18), at least one parent/legal guardian is required to sign your license application. Step-parents are not allowed to sign unless they have legally adopted you.
You’ll also need to pass a vision test, a hearing test, and a written exam made up of 50 questions. Finally, a parent or legal guardian must be present when you apply.
To apply for your Florida graduated operators license, you must:
- Be at least 16 years old.
- Have held a learners license for at least one year without any traffic convictions.
Have documentation showing a minimum of 50 hours of behind-the-wheel driving experience. 10 of those hours must be at night.
The Florida graduated operators license has the following age-based restrictions:
- 16 years old – only drive between 6 a.m. and 11 p.m., unless accompanied by a licensed driver who is at least 21 years old and occupies the front passenger seat, or you are traveling to or from work.
- 17 years old – only drive between 5 a.m. and 1 a.m., unless accompanied by a licensed driver who is at least 21 years old and occupies the front passenger seat, or you are traveling to or from work.
Your license will be mailed to you within 60 days of passing your road test. In the meantime, you will be handed a temporary printed license. Be sure you don’t lose it!
At I Drive Safely, we are passionate about creating safe drivers, and it’s with your safety in mind that we teamed up with Allstate Roadside Services to provide I Drive Safely students with three months of free roadside assistance. A great deal and peace of mind? It doesn’t get much better than that.
Here’s how it works:
- Sign up for your I Drive Safely Drivers Ed or Defensive Driving course.
- During checkout, be sure to opt in to your free trial of Roadside Assistance. This will set you up with three free months of roadside assistance. Please keep in mind that this enrollment opportunity is only available during checkout – don’t miss out! After your trial ends, your card will be charged $5/month, and you can cancel at any time.
- Hit the road with peace of mind knowing you are covered with emergency roadside assistance.
What you’ll get:
- Roadside coverage available 24/7, anywhere in the United States
- Anyone in the I Drive Safely driver’s family can use it!
- Digital tools to help you get the right service fast
- Towing, fuel delivery, lockout service, and more!
- For more information about the benefits involved, check out our terms and conditions here.
For more details, check our Terms and Conditions here.
Got more questions? Contact our dedicated I Drive Safely Roadside Assistance line:
Contact our dedicated I Drive Safely Roadside Assistance line:
If you need to use your Roadside Assistance Benefits, contact Allstate Roadside Services directly at 1-855-520-3691.
If you would like to cancel your Roadside Assistance, simply contact our dedicated Roadside Assistance agents.