Florida Drug and Alcohol Test
Our professionally designed Florida Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education (TLSAE) course gives you everything you’ll need to take your learners permit test. With innovative, proven teaching methods making full use of animation, video, and optional audio, this is Florida drivers ed built for you from the ground up.
Florida Drivers Ed Requirements:
- Be at least 16 years old
- Complete Florida’s TLSAE 4 hour drug & alcohol course
- Pass a written permit test
- Complete 50 hours of behind-the-wheel training
- Pass the DHSMV road test
Learn more about course details and exam requirements at our Florida Drivers License Guide.
What is in the Drug and Alcohol Course?
I Drive Safely’s Florida Drug and Alcohol TLSAE course, also known as the Drug, Alcohol, and Traffic Awareness (DATA) course, provides all of the information you are required to know before you finally get on the road. Our Florida drug and alcohol course is fully approved by the Florida DHSMV and meets the state-mandated 4 hours of course time needed to satisfy the state requirement for first-time drivers. Be aware the DHSMV is also referred to as the Florida DMV or FLHSMV. Note that in order to complete your Florida drivers ed online and Florida 4-hour drug and alcohol course online, you must be at least 15 years old.
All the material you’ll need is included in 7 single-subject units that you can study at your own pace. Don’t worry one bit about scheduling – you can log on or off anytime and always pick up right where you left off. You’ll learn all the essential Florida traffic laws and driving procedures, including chapters on:
- Night driving
- Driving in inclement weather conditions
- Florida road signs and signals
- Defensive driving techniques
- Freeway driving
- Merging and lane changing
- Hazard prevention methods
- Dangers of substance abuse and driving while intoxicated
With interactive elements and plenty of video content, you’ll find yourself breezing through the material in no time. You’ll even retain the information better, with accommodations made for every kind of learner, including voice-overs and subtitles.
Online Drug and Alcohol Test Florida Overview
To meet Florida's Drug and Alcohol course requirements, you must pass seven lesson quizzes and a final exam, the Florida Drug and Alcohol Test, at the end of the course. Don't worry, you have unlimited attempts to pass each quiz and the final exam, so no need to stress on the first try!
You can take our Florida drug and alcohol course completely at your own pace. Start and stop as often as you’d like, and finish as soon as you’re able. It’ll take about 4 hours in total, but how you go through the 4 hour drug and alcohol course is completely up to you and your learning preferences. With our engaging animations, video, and audio content, you’ll find yourself moving through the material faster than you ever thought possible.
Once you’ve completed the course, we'll notify the Florida Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles department of your drug and alcohol course completion. This not only satisfies your "first-time driver" TLSAE requirement, but it also makes you eligible to go ahead and take the online Florida drivers permit course. You’ll get three tries to pass it online – fail to do so, and you’ll be required to retake the drug and alcohol test at the DHSMV office in person.
If you pass, all you need to do is fill out some paperwork at the DHSMV office, provided you have all the right forms. When that’s done, you’re ready to jump behind the wheel with your new learners permit!
Are you under 18 years old?
You're going to need both the alcohol & drug course as well as Florida permit test.
Take a look at our TLSAE course plus online permit test combo.
I Drive Safely gives parents all the resources they need to get their teens through this exciting but anxious time safely and successfully. From our parent-teen driving contract to our step-by-step guide on getting your learners permit in Florida, we’ve got the tools you need to make this special time in your lives as stress-free as possible.
Still have questions about our online Florida drug and alcohol DMV course? See our FAQs.