Interested in getting a Florida driver’s license? You’ll need to complete driver’s education coursework, either in person or online, pass a written and road test, and meet a few other requirements. Here’s a step-by-step guide to get you through the process, starting with those who are 15 years old on up to 18 and beyond.
Step 1: Getting Your Florida Learner’s Permit
If you are 15 years old, you could be eligible for a learner’s permit. You’ll also need to:
Pass a vision and hearing test
Take the Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education (TLSAE) course (you can actually take this course as young as 14 ½ years old)
Have the parental consent form for a minor application signed and notarized (step-parents can only sign if they’ve legally adopted you)
Pass the 50-question knowledge test with a score of 80% or better
Provide documents for proof of identity, residence, and Social Security number when you go into the DMV to apply for your learner’s permit
Step 2: Gain Experience Driving in Florida
Once you’ve earned your Florida learner's license, it’s time to get behind the wheel and practice. You’ll need to follow a few rules, however. You’ll need a licensed driver who is at least 21 years old in the passenger seat at all times.
In the first three months you have your learner’s permit, you’ll only be allowed to drive during daytime hours. After three months, you can drive between 6 a.m and 10 p.m. After you turn 16, you’ll need an adult to attest you’ve had at least 50 hours of driving experience, with at least 10 of it at night, before you can fill out an application and take your license road test.
Step 3: Get Your Florida Driver's License
Once you’ve turned 16 and have your required 50 hours of verifiable experience under your belt, it’s time to move forward with getting your license. You’ll need to have had no traffic citations while you were practicing with your learner’s permit. You'll also need to have had the permit for at least one year.
You’ll then need to pass your in-person road test and pay your application fee to receive a Class E driver’s license, which allows you to operate non-commercial vehicles that weigh less than 26,000 pounds. If you are between the ages of 16 and 18, your license is part of a graduated system in Florida. This means:
If you’re 16 years old: Unless driving to or from work or accompanied by a driver 21 or older, you cannot drive between 11 p.m. and 6 a.m.
If you’re 17 years old: Unless driving to or from work or accompanied by a driver 21 or older, you cannot drive between 1 a.m. and 5 a.m.
At the age of 18, the graduated license restrictions are lifted and you can drive at all hours of day or night.
What If You’re 18 Years or Older?
If you are over 18 and never held a license and would like to get one, you’ll still need to:
Take the four-hour TSLAE course, either online or in-person
Pass the hearing and vision exams
Pass the traffic rules and signs exam
Pass the driver road test
Pay the driver’s license fee
Notably, you won't need to get a learner's license, so you can skip the 50 hours of practice driving that those under 18 require. Still, we recommend taking plenty of time to practice driving with an experienced driver so you can nail your driving test the first time.
If you are over 18 and have had a graduated or adult license in another state, just fill out a driver’s license application for the state of Florida. Applications must be in person and you must pass a vision test. You’ll also need proof of your identity, Social Security number, and residence to receive your Florida driver’s license.
Ready to Move Forward with Getting Your Florida Driver’s License?
No one offers a more convenient, simple way to handle your driver’s education than iDriveSafely.com. We offer all of the Florida driver’s education courses you need. Get started today with online classes you can complete at your convenience from your home computer or smartphone.