FLORIDA_DUI_LAW

 A Guide to DUI Laws in Florida

Drinking and driving is a serious offense, and it’s even more serious when minors are the ones behind the wheel. That’s why the state of Florida has set stiff penalties for drivers who break the rules. Read on to find out just how much trouble you could get in for mixing drinking and driving.

Florida DUI Penalties for Underage Drivers

As you learned in your Florida Drug and Alcohol course, if you’re under the age of 21, your Blood Alcohol Level (BAL) doesn’t even have to be at 0.08 for you to be punished for drinking and driving–a BAL of 0.02 or more will lead to license suspension. It works like this:

  • 1st DUI offense: 6-month suspension
    • Refusal to take the BAL test: 1-year suspension
  • 2nd DUI offense: 1-year suspension
    • Refusal to take the BAL test: 18-month suspension

Other DUI Penalties

Your drivers ed course also should have taught you that losing your driving privileges isn’t the only thing that can happen when you’re convicted of a DUI in Florida. There are other consequences for getting behind the wheel while intoxicated, and they get increasingly harsher with each DUI charge.

First DUI Conviction

  • Fine between $500 and $1,000
    • With a BAL of 0.15 or more OR with a minor in the vehicle: $1,000-$2,000 fine
  • 50 hours of community service
    • OR extra fine of $10 for every required hour of community service
  • Probation and incarceration period of up to 1 year
  • Up to 6 months of imprisonment
    • With a BAL of 0.15 or more OR with a minor in the vehicle: Up to 9 months
  • 10 days of vehicle impoundment/immobilization
  • Driver license revocation between 180 days and 1 year
  • DUI school
  • Florida license suspension for 6 months

Second DUI Conviction

  • Fine between $1,000 and $2,000
    • With a BAL of 0.15 or more OR with a minor in the vehicle: $2,000-$4,000 fine
  • Up to 9 months of imprisonment
    • With a BAL of 0.15 or more OR with a minor in the vehicle: Up to 12 months
  • 30 days of vehicle impoundment/immobilization
    • If this is the second conviction within 5 years
  • Driver license revocation between 180 days and 1 year
    • If this is the second conviction within 5 years: Revocation for at least 5 years
  • DUI school
  • License suspension for 1 year

Third DUI Conviction

  • Fine between $2,000 and $5,000
    • With a BAL of 0.15 or more OR with a minor in the vehicle: Minimum $4,000 fine
  • Up to 12 months of imprisonment
    • If this is the third conviction within 10 years: Minimum of 30 days of imprisonment
  • 90 days of vehicle impoundment/immobilization
    • If this is the third conviction within 10 years
  • Driver license revocation for at least 10 years
    • If this is the third conviction within 10 years
  • DUI school
  • License suspension for 1 year

As you can see, driving while intoxicated is not only dangerous for you and other drivers on the road, it’s also costly, and can change your life forever. After all, a DUI remains on your driving record permanently, and it will lead to a much higher insurance premium, potential job loss, and so many other consequences. So don’t drink and drive: it’s just not worth it.