Florida DHSMV & DMV Point System
Although every traffic ticket is a nuisance, some can be far more damaging to your driving record than others. Some will do nothing more than raise your insurance rates and follow you around for a few years; while others could cause you to lose your license entirely, or even result in jail time. So, how do we understand the dmv point system? We’ve gathered a list of the most common – and most detrimental – traffic violations that could end up costing you more than you bargained for.
Minor moving and speeding violations, such as driving 15 MPH or less over the posted speed limit, will add 3 points to your driving history. This is the lowest and least severe penalty, and can typically be taken care of with a 4 hour Basic Driver Improvement course, as long as you aren’t a habitual offender. More 3-point violations include:
- Running a stop sign
- Failure to yield
- Curfew violations
- Driving with an open container
- Child seatbelt violation
- Driving on the shoulder
Those tickets that carry a higher point count are usually those which more immediately endanger the lives of other people (although ALL traffic violations threaten everyone’s safety). These 4-point violations include passing a stopped school bus, speeding in excess of 15 MPH over the limit, red light violations, and driving recklessly. You will also receive 4 points if you commit a moving violation which results in an accident.
Drivers who are extremely careless and negligent will see 6 or more points added to their driving record, which cause a huge spike in insurance costs and carry hefty fines and fees. Some of these traffic violations are:
- Leaving the scene of an accident
- Speeding resulting in an accident
- A moving violation resulting in bodily harm
FL DHSMV Point System Overview
The table below shows the Florida dmv points system:
|Minor moving violations||3 points|
|Speeding (less than 15 MPH over limit)||3 points|
|Seatbelt violations||3 points|
|Passing a school bus||4 points|
|Speeding (15 MPH or more over the limit)||4 points|
|Driving recklessly||4 points|
|Leaving the scene of an accident||6 points|
|Speeding resulting in an accident||6 points|
What Does This Mean?
Each point will increase your auto insurance by a certain amount, and an accumulation of points will designate you as a habitual offender. If you receive 12 or more points within a 12-month period, your license will be suspended for 30 days. Drivers who accumulate 18 or more points within an 18 month period will have their licenses taken away for a period of 3 months. For extremely careless drivers who rack up 24 points within 36 months, you can expect to lose your license for, at minimum, one entire year. You will also likely need to take an advanced driver improvement course to get your license reinstated.
Dismiss Your Points from Home
If you’re carrying points on your driving record, or if you’ve just received a traffic ticket, there are ways to avoid higher insurance costs and a tarnished history. Investing in a DHSMV-approved Florida traffic school course can help you dismiss your violation altogether, thereby eliminating any points associated with it, and preventing the violation from being reported to your insurance company.
Your best and most convenient way to complete a traffic school course is through an online provider, such as I Drive Safely. Our course is 100% state approved, and is designed to work specifically around your schedule. You won’t be forced to attend an inconvenient classroom course, nor will you have to rearrange your daily activities. Study from any computer, anywhere you are, at any time you find convenient. We are here to make your ticket troubles disappear!