Getting a driver's license is your first step toward independence. But before getting behind the wheel, you need to take a Florida driver's ed course. You're in luck, as I Drive Safely offers three: the TLSAE, the learner's permit course, and the TLSAE & permit combo. Which one should you take? This guide will walk you through your options, explain how they're different, and suggest the best one for your circumstances.
What Is the Florida TLSAE Course?
Florida has a unique Traffic Law & Substance Abuse Education (TLSAE) course. It teaches the risks that alcohol and drugs have on driving. It also covers Florida traffic laws on driving under the influence and the punishments for breaking those laws.
All in all, the TLSAE takes four hours to complete. There's a final exam at the end of the course. If you pass it, your completion certificate is sent to the Florida Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (FHSMV).
The TLSAE is mandatory for all aspiring drivers. Everyone over the age of 14.5 who has never had a driver's license in any state or country must take this course to get a learner's permit or license. You can't get behind the wheel without it.
This course is also for drivers who have a suspended license due to driving with a blood alcohol level of between .02 and .05.
I Drive Safely is approved by the FHSMV to teach the TLSAE course.
What Is the Learner's Permit Course?
Alternatively, you can choose to take the Florida Learners Permit Online Permit Test. It doesn't include classes. Rather, it gives you the ability to take the written knowledge test online.
The permit test consists of 50 questions about Florida traffic laws, safe driving practices, and identifying traffic controls. To pass, you must score at least 80% (get 40 questions right).
If you pass your test, I Drive Safely will send your results to the FHSMV. You'll be ready to move on to the next stages of getting a Florida driver's license in just 72 hours!
Anyone who has never had a license must take the permit exam, regardless of age. But only teens between the ages of 14.5 and 17 can do it online with I Drive Safely. 18-year-olds and other adults must take their test at the FHSMV.
Choosing the TLSAE and Permit Course Has Advantages
The third option is a combination of the first two: the Florida TLSAE Course + Online Permit Test Combo. You get access to both the TLSAE and the permit test but for less money than if you were to buy them separately.
It's a great choice for teens aged 14.5 to 17. You get to do everything online on one single platform. Plus, you don't need to spend hours at the FHSMV waiting your turn to take the test.
Which Florida Course Is Right for Me?
Now that you understand the three different options I Drive Safelt offers, let's look at some real-world scenarios. Then, you can decide which route is best for you.
For Florida Teenagers
If you're between 14.5 and 17 years of age, consider taking the TLSAE and permit course combination. It's the best value for your money because you need to complete both.
If you've already taken the TLSAE, you can save money and only take the permit test.
For Florida Adults
Adults (over the age of 18) who have never had a license should take the TLSAE course.
New Florida Residents With a License
Teens and adults moving to Florida who already have a license don't need to take any courses. New residents only have to take vision and hearing tests—no written test required.
Young Drivers with Suspended Licenses
Drivers under the age of 21 with a suspended license due to driving with a blood alcohol level of between .02 and .05 can apply for a hardship license. But only after enrolling in the TSLAE course and passing.
Get Behind the Wheel Faster and Safely with I Drive Safely
The three Florida driver's ed courses offered by I Drive Safely get you on the road faster than if you went the traditional in-person FHSMV route. No matter which option you choose, you can count on engaging lessons that prepare you for the written test. Start your Florida learner's permit today and you'll be on the road in no time!