If you're at least 14.5 years old, you can finally start getting your Florida license. It's exciting! But before going to the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (FLHSMV), make sure you pack all the paperwork you'll need. Otherwise, you won't be able to get behind the wheel. Here's a list of every document and form you should take with you.
What Documents Do I Need to Take to the FLHSMV?
Get a folder to keep all your documents organized. Before heading out the door, check if you need to make an appointment for your local FLHSMV office.
1. Proof of Identity
You'll need one document (an original) from this list to prove your identity:
U.S. birth certificate
Valid U.S. passport
Consular report of birth abroad
Certificate of naturalization
Certificate of citizenship
If you're not a U.S. citizen, there's an alternative list of proof of identity documents you can show instead.
2. Proof of Social Security
Next, you need one document (an original) from this list to prove you have a Social Security number:
Social Security card
Paycheck or pay stub
3. Proof of Residential Address
You must also prove you live in Florida. Pack two documents from the list:
Mortgage or rental agreement
Florida voter registration card
Florida vehicle registration or title
Don't have any of these? There are plenty more examples you can use — too many to list in this article!
Don't have enough documents in your name? Your legal guardian can step in. They must show two documents in their name and sign a Certificate of Address form.
4. Parental Consent Form
To get your Florida learner's permit, your parent or legal guardian has to complete and sign the Parental Consent Form. It must be notarized or signed in front of a FLHSMV worker.
5. Proof of TLSAE Course Completion
Additionally, you need to show proof of completing the Florida Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education Course — and passing the final test. If you took the TLSAE with IDriveSafely, you don't need to worry about it: we'll send it to the FLHSMV for you.
6. Guardian Online Test Proctoring Form
Did you know you can take the Florida permit test online? IDriveSafely is an approved permit test course provider. If you do it online, your legal guardian has to fill out the Online Proctoring Form and either have it notarized or signed in front of a DHSMV worker.
7. Learner's Permit
All the documents so far let you apply for a Florida learner's permit. Once you get enough supervised practice behind the wheel, you can apply for a driver's license.
You'll need to show your identity, social security, and residential address documents again. And you'll have to show your learner's permit, which must be at least 6 months old.
8. Certification of Minor Driving Experience Form
You also need a Certification of Minor Driving Experience Form, completed and signed by a legal guardian. Get it notarized or have your legal guardian fill it out in front of a FLHSMV worker.
9. Testing Vehicle Documents
Ready for the last step? Get your practice in before taking the road exam. Then, take the valid registration and proof of insurance for the vehicle you'll be driving during the test.
Make Getting Your Florida License Easy and Simple
Getting your Florida driver's license gives you freedom and independence. The sooner you start, the sooner you can drive yourself to school or go on road trips with friends.
Luckily, you can make the process go by quickly and smoothly when you enroll in our accredited Florida TLSAE + permit course. Because everything is online, you can learn at your own pace whenever and wherever you want. You'll be ready to get behind the wheel in no time.