Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ) for Traffic School in Kentucky
- Why should I take a Kentucky traffic school course?
- Is this course approved?
- What are the benefits of attending Kentucky traffic school?
- I'm not sure if I'm eligible to take a Kentucky traffic safety course. How do I find out?
- How long will this course take?
- How often can I take a Kentucky traffic safety course for point reduction?
- What are the topics covered in Kentucky state traffic school?
- Do I have to take a final exam?
- What is the testing and grading policy?
- What will happen if I fail the final exam?
- How will the course appear on my driving record?
- Is there a time limit to complete this course?
- Can I reschedule my due date or receive an extension?
Enrolling in Kentucky traffic school can help you dismiss a traffic violation and clear the associated points from your driving record. This also keeps your violation from being reported to your insurance company, so your rates won’t rise due to your ticket.
Yes, and I Drive Safely is the only online provider approved for Kentucky defensive driving! Your Kentucky traffic safety course is state-approved by the Kentucky Division of Driver Licensing (DDL) to meet all requirements for point reduction and/or dismissal.
There are many benefits that come with attending Kentucky traffic school. Among them are:
- You get up-to-date, state-specific information on traffic laws.
- You will avoid points added to your record .
- You can satisfy an out-of-state citation.
For point reduction:
Taking Kentucky traffic school for point reduction requires a referral by the Division of Driver Licensing (DDL). You must contact the DDL and request permission for point reduction. The DDL will determine your eligibility, and will then mail you a letter stating your eligibility to enroll in a course. The DDL will also let you know how many points you may reduce. If you do not receive this letter, you have not been deemed eligible.
Eligibility requirements are as follows:
- You hold a valid Kentucky driver’s license
- You have not taken traffic school in the past 12 months
- You may hold a commercial driver’s license, but you may only reduce points; you may not dismiss a ticket
For ticket dismissal:
Eligibility for ticket dismissal is determined on an individual basis by your court, and is based upon your citation and your driving history. Generally, you will need to meet the following requirements:
- You hold a valid Kentucky driver’s license
- You have been referred by the court for ticket dismissal
- You have not taken a traffic school course within the last 12 months
If you hold a commercial driver’s license, you may take traffic school to prevent points from being assessed to your CDL; however, the violation will still appear on both of your driving records (3- and 5-year). You may not enroll in the course until you receive an approval letter from the DDL.
We have all of the eligibility requirements and steps to take for Kentucky traffic school listed on our How it Works page.
Your Kentucky traffic safety course is only 4 short hours, so you could start and finish your course all in the same day if you wanted to! Your course material is broken down into 6 single-subject units, which you can complete at your own pace. Therefore, how long the course takes is up to you!
Per state law, you may take this course once every 12 months to reduce points.
Some of the topics covered in Kentucky traffic school include:
- Kentucky traffic laws
- Defensive driving techniques
- Driving under the influence, and how it impairs driving
- Highway safety
- Kentucky point system
Yes, your final exam consists of 30 multiple-choice questions. You need to score an 80% or higher to pass, and you are allowed a total of three (3) retakes on your final exam.
Each of the 6 chapters contains a quiz that reviews important content from that chapter. There are 3 questions per quiz, and you need to obtain a 100% or higher to pass onto the next chapter. The quizzes will provide you with an excellent opportunity to master the course material and prepare for your final exam. You will be provided with feedback on any incorrect answers, and you may retake your quizzes an unlimited amount of times.
Once you get to your final exam, you will encounter 30 multiple-choice questions, requiring a passing score of 80% or higher. You may retake the exam again if you need another attempt to pass. You are allowed a total of three (3) retakes; if you fail to pass after your final retake, you will need to take the course again.
You may retake your quizzes and final exam if you do not obtain a passing score of on your first try. You are allowed unlimited retakes on your quizzes (on which you must score a 100% to pass), and a total of three (3) retakes on your final exam, which requires a passing score of 80%. Failure to pass the exam after your third retake will result in course failure, and you will need to take the course again.
Your traffic school course will appear on your 5-year driving record only – not your 3-year record. Your 5-year record is used by law enforcement, government agencies, and courts to determine your responsibility on the roads and possible future penalties.
Per Kentucky state law, you are required to complete your course within 30 days. Failure to do so will result in forfeiture of any point reduction. Any student who has not successfully completed the course within 30 days will have their account terminated without notice, and the student will not be eligible for a refund.
While rescheduling is generally frowned upon by the state, you may contact your court and request permission for a deadline extension. It is up to the judge whether it will be granted.