Frequently Asked Questions – Online Traffic School in Idaho
- Is this course approved by the state of Idaho?
- I'm not sure if I'm eligible to take an Idaho driver Improvement course. How do I find out?
- How do I know if I qualify for the state-mandated insurance discount?
- How often can I take a driver improvement course in Idaho?
- How long will this course take?
- What types of things will I study?
- Do I have to take a final exam?
- What is the testing and grading policy?
- Is there any way I can fail the course?
- Why does this course have timers?
- Is there a time limit to complete this course?
Yes! Your Idaho driver improvement course is state-approved by the Idaho Department of Transportation (DOT) to reduce 3 points from your driving record, and to qualify drivers aged 55+ for a state-mandated insurance discount.
In Idaho, you do not need to have received a traffic ticket in order to take a course to remove points from your record. If you already have existing points from previous violations, you may contact your DMV branch for permission to take a driver improvement course and remove up to 3 of them. You’ll need to meet the following eligibility requirements:
- You hold a valid non-commercial Idaho driver’s license
- Your license is not already in suspension due to accumulated points
- You have NOT taken a driver improvement course in the last 3 years (36 months)
We have all of the eligibility requirements and steps to take for your Idaho driver improvement course listed on our How it Works page.
If you are age 55 or older, you automatically qualify for the state-mandated discount through completion of a driver improvement course. Many insurance providers in Idaho will also reward other drivers of all ages who voluntarily complete a driver improvement course.
Even if you aren’t 55 or older, check with your insurance provider to determine whether they offer a discount for driver improvement, how much you will save, and how long your discount will stay in effect. For more information, please visit our How it Works page.
You may take your course once every 3 years for both point reduction and to maintain an insurance discount.
The Idaho driver improvement course meets the state-required 6 hours. You may work through those 6 hours all in one day if you choose, or you may spread it out over a longer period of time. How long it takes to complete the course is completely up to you!
Each of your 8 course chapters focuses on a single topic that pertains to Idaho driving and traffic laws. These topics include:
- Highway safety
- Alcohol- and drug-impaired driving
- State traffic laws
- Driving emergencies
- Vehicle maintenance
Yes, your final exam consists of 25 multiple-choice questions. You need to score a 70% or higher to pass, and you may retake the exam again if you need to.
Each of the 8 chapters contains a quiz that reviews important content from that chapter. There are 10 questions per quiz, and you need to obtain an 80% or higher to pass onto the next chapter. The quizzes will provide you with an excellent opportunity to master the course material and prepare for your final exam. You will be provided with feedback on any incorrect answers, and you may retake your quizzes an unlimited amount of times.
Once you get to your final exam, you will encounter 25 multiple-choice questions, requiring a passing score of 70% or higher. You may retake the exam again if you need another attempt to pass. You are allowed unlimited attempts.
Absolutely not! You have unlimited retakes on your chapter quizzes and final exam, so if you fail to achieve a passing score on your first try, you may simply retake them again until you do.
This course is required by Idaho law to span 6 hours in length. To comply with this law, we (and all other online defensive driving schools) are required to place timers on each page of the course. We realize that some students may read faster than the timer will permit you to advance, but state regulations prohibit us from changing this function. The timers cannot be disabled for any reason.
Deadlines are typically determined by the Idaho courts or DMV. While we allow you 180 days to complete your course before your account is suspended, the court or DMV may require you to finish your course much sooner than that. Make sure to determine your court’s deadline before beginning the course.
Regardless of court deadlines, you must complete the course within 180 days of registration. Any student who has not successfully completed the course within 180 days will be terminated without notice and will not be eligible for a refund.