How to Get a Georgia Drivers License
Getting your Georgia learners permit and Georgia drivers license can be a confusing process, so we decided to make it easy. Just follow the steps, and you’ll be a licensed driver in no time!
Start Your Learners Permit Process with Georgia Drivers Ed
If you’re 17 years of age and wondering how to get a Georgia drivers license, your first step is completing a Joshua’s Law drivers ed course. Teens 15 to 17 years old are required to complete a 30-hour course approved by the state before applying for their Georgia learners permit. Here’s all the information you need in order to get started:
PHASE 1: Georgia Learners Permit (Class CP)
- You must be at least 15 years of age.
- Under Joshua’s Law, eligible Georgia teen drivers 17 and under are required to take a 30-hour drivers ed course before applying for their license along with 40 hours of behind-the-wheel training, 6 of which must be at night.
- Georgia drivers 17 and older are only required to take the 40-hour behind-the-wheel training.
- You must have the Alcohol and Drug Awareness Program (ADAP) card.
- There will be a written examination that you must pass. If you do (and therefore receive your permit), you must have a licensed (Class C) adult over the age of 21 with you while driving.
- You must also pass a vision exam.
PHASE 2: Provisional Georgia Drivers License (Class D)
When a driver has held an instructional drivers permit for 12 months and is at least 17 years of age, he or she can apply for their Georgia intermediate drivers license. To earn this type of drivers license, there is a driving test they must pass. Once the intermediate license has been acquired, the intermediate drivers license holder may only drive under the following conditions:
- The first 6 months: you may only have immediate family members as passengers
- The second 6 months after receipt of license: you may only drive 1 non-family passenger under 21 years of age
- One year (12 months) after receipt of license: you may drive a maximum of 3 non-family passengers under the age of 21
- You may not drive between the hours of 12 a.m. and 5 a.m.
PHASE 3: Full Georgia Drivers License (Class C)
As long as an intermediate driver has kept their Georgia Class D license free of major traffic violations for one full year (12 months), they will be issued their full Class C Georgia drivers license. You must be at least 18 years old to receive your full license.
Forms You’ll Need to Present at the Georgia DDS
To make things easier, follow the instructions below, have all your documents in order, make an appointment with the Georgia DDS to take your permit exam and you should have no problems. And remember, you must be at least 15, but under 18 years to get a permit.
- Your certificate of completion from our online drivers ed course.
- A Georgia DDS certificate of attendance form must be signed and notarized from your school. It is only valid for 30 days. All applicants under the age of 18 not enrolled in school must provide a GED diploma, high school diploma, or an attendance form from your local Board of Education if you are enrolled in an approved home school program.
- Your Alcohol and Drug Awareness Program (ADAP) card.
- One of the following forms of identification:
- An original U.S. birth certificate or copy of the U.S. birth certificate, which must be certified and have an embossed state seal (hospital-issued birth certificates are not accepted)
- U.S. certificate of birth registration
- Copy of court records for adoption, name changes, and so on. The copy must be certified
- Certified naturalization records
- Immigration card
- Valid passport
- If you are not a U.S. citizen, you must provide original immigration documents that have not expired.
- You’ll need to know your Social Security number, but you are not required to bring in your original Social Security card. Your SSN will be verified online with the Social Security records system, which will confirm your first and last name, birth date and Social Security number, before your permit is issued.
- If you are not a citizen, you may instead provide a Social Security Denial Letter (SSA L676 form).
Download These and Other Forms
The following forms can also be found at Georgia’s DDS site.
- Certificate of Attendance DS-1
- Certificate of Eligibility for Restoration of Driving Privileges following School Suspension DS-3
- Driver Training School Parental Affidavit DS-7010
- Parent/Teen Driving Guide
- Petition for Hardship Exception to School Conduct and Attendance Requirement DS-7012
Start working on getting your license: take our award-winning online drivers ed course today!