Getting Your Learners Permit and Drivers License in GA
After completing an online Joshua’s Law drivers ed course, you can apply for your Georgia drivers permit. Applicants for a learners permit in Georgia must be at least 15 years of age.
You must also have completed the Alcohol and Drug Awareness Program (ADAP) and have an ADAP card. The Georgia Alcohol Drug Awareness Program is a required course that is usually taught in Georgia schools over four 1-hour classes – but it can also be taken online if necessary. The course ends with a mandatory final exam. Most Georgia students complete this course in 9th grade.
To get your learners permit, you will need to complete an exam at the Georgia DDS, which tests your knowledge of basic driving techniques and Georgia road laws. Your permit allows you to drive so long as you are accompanied by a licensed driver over the age of 21.
How to earn an Intermediate Georgia Drivers License (CLASS D)
When a driver has held a Georgia drivers permit for one year and is under the age of 18, he or she may apply for a Class D Georgia drivers license. Earning your first time license requires you to pass a Georgia drivers license test with a representative at the DDS. Since this is an intermediate license, there are a few restrictions on it:
- You may only have immediate family as passengers for the first six months
- During the following six months, you may only have one non-family passenger
- You may not drive between the hours of 12 a.m. and 5 a.m.
Once you’ve held your intermediate license for one year and one day – and assuming that you’ve had no convictions for major traffic violations – you must head to your local Customer Service Center and pay an upgrade fee to convert your license to the full Class C Georgia drivers license.