You are welcome to drive in Georgia – so long as you have auto insurance.
Car Insurance in Georgia
Auto liability insurance protects Georgia drivers in the event of an accident. It is required by Georgia law that you carry a certain minimum amount of liability coverage to pay for any damages you may cause to another driver on the road. It’s also generally a good driving practice to be insured against all possible and likely scenarios that may cause property damage or personal injury. Medical bills and lawsuits can be extremely expensive, so a monthly insurance cost is a small price to pay to protect in the event of an accident or mistake.
Minimum Insurance Requirements in Georgia
Although insurance packages come in all shapes, sizes, and forms, there are certain minimum requirements that must be met to legally drive in Georgia.
Here is the minimum liability coverage you must carry according to Georgia law:
- $25,000 for bodily injury per person in an accident
- $50,000 for bodily injury or death of multiple people in an accident
- $25,000 for property destruction of others in an accident
Additional Insurance Options
For those who can afford it, additional insurance coverage is usually recommended to cover you in case of an accident or other kinds of damage. Here are the most common types of optional kinds of insurance:
- Collision insurance: this will cover you in the case of collision with other vehicles.
- Comprehensive insurance: this will provide assistance in the event of non-accident related damage to your car.
- Uninsured driver insurance: this covers you if you are hit by an uninsured or underinsured driver.
When to Show Proof of Auto Insurance in Georgia
There are some times you will need to prove that you have valid insurance that meets the minimum Georgia insurance requirements. Although you should keep a copy of your insurance policy card in the glove box of your car along with other important documents like your registration, that will not always be enough to demonstrate proof of insurance. You must also be registered in the Georgia Electronic Insurance Compliance System (GEICS), which law enforcement may check electronically during a traffic stop. It is the responsibility of your insurance provider to register your policy in the GEICS.
Regardless, be sure to have your insurance card ready to show for the following situations:
- Registration transactions, such as renewals, reinstatement, and license plate changes
- At the request of a police officer
- After an accident, regardless of whose fault it is
Penalty for Driving without Insurance in Georgia
The GEICS system is automatically updated when insurance statuses change in Georgia, which means that it will be easy for the DDS and law enforcement to know when your insurance runs out or it canceled. You will be sent a compliance letter when your insurance runs out. If you do not comply, you will face monetary fines and/or a license suspension, with a $200 reinstatement fee on the first offense.
You can read more about the requirements and nature of Georgia auto insurance at the Georgia Department of Revenue website