Joshua's Law, Georgia Online Course
As of July 1, 2021, all 17-year-old Georgia residents who wish to earn a provisional Class D drivers license must complete a Georgia DDS-approved Joshua’s Law Georgia online course and spend 40 hours driving with parental supervision, 6 hours of which must be at night. These requirements must be verified by a parent or legal guardian. If you're a Georgia teen that is 18 or older, however, a drivers ed course is not mandatory to apply for a license. It's important to note that they are still required to practice behind-the-wheel for 40 hours, including 6 at night.
About the Georgia Joshua’s Law Course
The Joshua’s Law online course is 30 hours long and covers all of the information that teens need to know to operate their vehicle and stay safe while driving. The course teaches a variety of defensive driving techniques such as safe following practices, how to properly scan the road in front of you, and how to be aware of other drivers’ blind spots.
Education Without Boundaries
You should be as free to work through your Georgia drivers ed as you will be once you get your license. That's why our course is designed to help you study the way you want to, without restrictions or rules.
- Study how you want, when you want, where you want
- Access your course 24/7 from any computer
- Log in and out as much as you want
- Work at your own pace
- Take as many breaks as you need
- Set your own deadlines
- Study comfortably in a stress-free environment
Our GA Joshua's Law course is approved by the Georgia Department of Driver Services (DDS) to meet every requirement for first-time teen drivers to obtain a Georgia drivers license. The course is a parent-taught Georgia drivers ed course which can be completed without the use of a classroom.
Joshua's Law requirements state that all Georgia teens 16 years old and under must complete an approved drivers education course before applying for a license, plus 40 hours of supervised behind-the-wheel training.
A typical drivers ed class consists of an instructor in a classroom guiding you through pages of a textbook. But when you complete your Joshua's Law course online, you get to learn through stimulating visuals and interactive elements that help you learn faster and more efficiently. Through expert design, you'll experience:
- Entertaining videos and audio
- Interactive graphics and animations
- Short and easy subject-based chapters
- Unlimited retakes of your exam – you're guaranteed to pass!
Parents, You Can Guide Your Child
With a parent-taught Joshua's Law course, you're able to ensure that your child is getting the education they need without it interfering in their daily lives.
We offer a free Georgia parent/teen driving contract that allows you to establish rules and guidelines at the outset, making sure everyone is on the same page and expectations are met from both sides. You’ll also receive support from our customer service team, available 7 days a week. They’ll answer your questions and guide you through the process of helping your teen get that license they're working so hard to earn.
The Best Quality for an Affordable Price
Earning a drivers license shouldn't cost an arm and a leg, nor should it require spending extra gas money just to get to a classroom. Stay home, get online, and save money with a course that only requires a computer, an Internet connection, and a few minutes to spare at a time. For one low price, you'll meet all Joshua's Law requirements from the comfort of your own home.
About Georgia Drivers Permit (Class CP)
You may only apply for your Georgia learners permit after completing a Joshua's Law drivers ed course, and you must be over 15 years of age.
Before you apply, make sure you have the ADAP card that you received after passing the Georgia Drug and Alcohol Awareness Program. This state-mandated program is usually provided to Georgia students in 9th grade, and teaches students about the dangers associated with intoxicants. Students receive a certificate of completion called an "ADAP Card" after finishing a final exam in the course.
After you meet all the requirements, simply schedule a time at the Georgia DDS to complete the written test. After passing the test, you will be granted your permit. Permit holders are allowed to drive so long as a licensed driver over the age of 21 is in the passenger seat.
About Georgia Intermediate Drivers License (Class D)
If you are under the age of 18 and have held onto your learners permit for 12 months, you are ready to apply for your Class D Georgia drivers license. It simply involves scheduling a driving test at the Georgia DDS, and passing the behind-the-wheel exam.
The Class D Georgia drivers license has a few restrictions:
- During the first six months, you are only allowed to have family in the car with you
- The six months after that, you are only allowed to have one non-family member as a passenger
- You are prohibited from driving between the hours of 12 a.m. and 6 a.m.
So save time and get online with your easy Georgia drivers ed!