The Georgia DDS Learners Permit Practice Test & Guide
Format of the Georgia Permit TestGeorgia teens looking to earn a drivers license must first earn a learners permit by passing their permit exam. Known more commonly as the Georgia DDS Knowledge Exam, this test goes over the basics of driving know-how to ensure that you have all the essential laws of driving down pat. We have created a Georgia learners permit guide to passing your practice test.
The Georgia learners permit test consists of 2 separate tests – the Road Signs test and the Road Rules exam. Each one is composed of 20 multiple choice questions; ; you’ll have to score at least 15 out of 20 on each to officially pass the Georgia learners permit practice test.
- The Road Signs test consists of questions asking you to identify common signs found on the many highways and streets of Georgia.
- The Road Rules tests contains questions to ensure you have a solid grasp on the laws, responsibilities, and regulations in place for Georgia drivers.
Studying for your Georgia Permit Test
The Georgia DDS offers many ways to adequately prep for your Georgia permit test.
- Study the Georgia Driver Manual, which contains every single valuable tidbit of information necessary to be a great driver.
- Use the provided Practice Test, which the GA DDS provides at no additional cost.
Additionally, I Drive Safely offers a variety of practice tests that can be invaluable to your test-taking experience.
GA Permit Test Requirements
Prospective teenage drivers must be at least 15 years old before they can take the Georgia learners permit test. They must also pass a vision exam before taking the written knowledge exam, and must also bring the following documents:
- Documents that verify proof of identity, including full name, Social Security number, residential address, and proof of U.S. citizenship. The DDS website has a comprehensive list of acceptable documents.
- A Certificate of Attendance (DS-1) dated within 30 days of the test, or a certified High School Diploma or GED.
Please note that if you’re under 18 years old, an authorized parent or guardian must be on hand to sign your application with you.
After successfully earning your Georgia learners permit, you are now legally allowed to get behind the wheel of an automobile for further instruction. You’re now eligible to earn an intermediate license after you’ve met the following requirements:
- Hold a learners permit for 12 months
- Complete a Joshua’s Law drivers education course
- Complete 40 hours of behind-the-wheel training, six of which must be at night
- Successfully pass a behind-the-wheel driving test
You’ll earn your full license after turning 18 years of age and having a clean driving record in the 12 months preceding your 18th birthday. Congratulations!