How You Could Lose Your License in California?
Losing your license can be a big blow to your lifestyle. Most of us depend in some measure on being able to get around freely, and some of us owe it our livelihood. So how do you get a California suspended license – or worse, a license revocation? And more important, how do you avoid it? Here’s a quick review of the obvious no-no’s, as well as some information on additional California driving laws that could affect your license.
Points On Your Driving Record
Points add up. If you’ve gotten one too many California traffic ticket violations, the courts will see to it that you can no longer drive for a period of time. It’s the last resort for enforcing traffic laws and ensuring a safe driving experience for everyone.
Your driving record is more or less public, meaning there are no barriers to finding the information. Insurance companies use this to influence your premiums, and the more points they see, the higher they’ll go. Points stay on your record for at least 36 months, depending on the nature of the violation, so license suspension usually occurs during a flurry of citations over a short period.
Driving Without Insurance
Driving without insurance is a serious violation, and it can mean license suspension after the first incident. Your car can even be impounded on the spot.
You won’t be able to get back on the road for a full year, and that only if you submit valid proof of insurance that’s approved by the courts. Otherwise you could be facing 4 years without driving privileges.
If you’re convicted in court for driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol, you’ll be facing at least 6 months of suspended license, as well as a DUI program that must be completed before your license can be reinstated. On subsequent convictions, the period of suspension will lengthen to years.
Evading a Peace Officer
Giving chase to a law enforcement officer will mean not only license suspension, but mandatory jail time of up to one year.
Your license can be revoked if a clinical evaluation shows you to be mentally or physically unfit to drive.
Other Reasons Not Related to Driving
An excess of moving violations is the most common way to lose your license, but there are other crimes – minor and major – that can result in suspension. A bevy of unpaid parking tickets, for example, can add up to the point that the court denies you driving privileges. Not responding to a DMV notice or failing to appear in court can mean the same. You can even have your license suspended for not paying child support – a sure way to get your attention.
Keep track of your driving record at all times, and make sure you don’t acquire the kind of bad driving habits that can lead to license suspension. With a little knowledge and a lot of caution, you can stay a safe – and licensed – driver.
If you have any questions, contact us here – we’re here 24 hours a day, every day of the year!