When the flashing lights and siren of a police car indicate that you need to pull over, your heart rate may spike in anticipation of getting a traffic ticket. South Carolina drivers do seem to receive their fair share of citations. Here are the most common traffic tickets issued to drivers in South Carolina.
4 Common Traffic Tickets in South Carolina
According to a report by Insurify, South Carolina tops the list of states with the highest number of speeding tickets. The report shows that 17% of drivers (that’s one in five drivers) receive speeding tickets. Speeding is dangerous and increases the chance of being involved in a fatal car crash. Stick to the speed limit — you’ll avoid a ticket and it can mean the difference between life and death on the road.
2. Driving Under the Influence
Driving under the influence is a big problem in South Carolina, with 36% of car crashes being alcohol-related. In South Carolina, having a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08% or higher is illegal. If you’re under the age of 21 with a BAC of only 0.02%, your license will be immediately suspended for three months for a first offense.
3. Driving Under License Suspension
Some South Carolina drivers decide to risk driving while their license is suspended and end up getting caught. It’s not worth the risk, as fines are steep. A first offense can cost $650 or more. On a third offense, you could face a whopping $2,300 fine. This is the most expensive traffic offense in South Carolina.
4. Driving Without Insurance
Car insurance is compulsory in South Carolina, yet some drivers are cruising the roads in uninsured vehicles. This is another costly offense, with fines of up to $550 for a first offense, plus $5 per day for each day it remains uninsured up to a maximum of $200. You’ll also pay a further $200 to have your vehicle registration and license plates reinstated.
The Penalties for Traffic Offenses in South Carolina
If you get a traffic ticket in South Carolina, you’ll face one of these penalties:
Paying a fine. For a speeding ticket, the amount you’ll pay depends on how many miles over the speed limit you were. If you’re 10 miles over the speed limit, the fine is $15-25. More than 25 miles over the speed limit and you could pay up to $200. If you’re cited for reckless driving, the fine could be as high as $445 or thirty days in jail.
Points added to your driving record. The number of points also depends on the violation. Changing lanes without signaling adds two points. Reckless driving adds six points.
Having your license suspended or revoked. Should you accumulate twelve points for traffic violations, your license will be suspended for three months. If you reach twenty points, you could face a six-month suspension.
Being court-ordered to attend traffic school. Depending on the violation, the judge may instruct you to attend traffic school or take a defensive driving course. Fortunately, these days you can take an online defensive driving course in South Carolina that’s faster and more convenient than going to in-class lessons.
Going to prison. If reckless driving led to a crash in which someone was killed, the penalty is severe. A felony DUI or vehicular manslaughter charge can result in jail time up to 25 years.
Become a Safer South Carolina Driver
Traffic tickets are not the only concern for motorists in South Carolina. Road safety, in general, is a serious issue. In a study on the states with the worst drivers, South Carolina ranked highest in terms of traffic fatalities per 100 million vehicle miles driven.
While you can’t control what other drivers do, you can improve your driving skills by taking a South Carolina defensive driving course. Completing a defensive driving course can also reduce points on your driving record and lower your insurance rate.
I Drive Safely’s online defensive driving course for South Carolina drivers takes only four hours to complete and covers:
South Carolina traffic laws and rules of the road.
Tips on driving at night.
How to spot hazards and prevent collisions.
Safe driving techniques in bad weather.
Want to become a safer driver, fulfill a court-mandated defensive driving course, or reduce points on your record? Sign up today.