In Florida, you have to take the Class E Knowledge Exam to obtain a learner's permit. Teens can study for and complete the test online. Here’s what you need to know about taking the Florida learner's permit test virtually.
When Can I Apply for a Florida Learner’s Permit?
As soon as you turn 15, you’re eligible to apply for your Florida learner’s permit. If you’re under 18, you can skip the long lines at the Florida Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (FLHSMV) and take the test online.
If you’re over 18, you have to take the exam in-person at your local FLHSMV. Walk-ins are allowed, but it’s best to make an appointment.
How to Take the Florida Permit Test Online
The Florida permit test includes 50 multiple-choice questions. You’ll have one hour to complete the test. To pass, you must score at least 80% — that’s 40 out of 50 questions.
The Official Florida Driver License Handbook can help you prepare for the test. However, rather than wade through a lengthy manual, taking an online course provides all the key information to help you to study for the test much faster.
If you don’t pass the online permit test the first time, you can retake it. If you still don’t pass after the third attempt, you’ll have to take the test in person at the FLHSMV. According to Florida law, any person who passed the Class E Knowledge Exam with a third-party administrator may be randomly selected, with no prior notice, to be retested in person. In this case, no additional fee applies.
Complete a Drug and Alcohol Course
One of the requirements of obtaining your permit is to pass the Florida Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education (TLSAE) course. This is a 4-hour drug and alcohol course you can also take online. The course covers the dangers of driving intoxicated, traffic laws, driving safety, and defensive driving techniques.
What Happens After I Pass the Online Permit Test?
Once you’ve completed and passed the permit test online, you’ll need to visit an FLHSMV branch to:
Provide documents proving your identity, Social Security number, and residential address.
Pass the hearing and vision tests.
Provide proof you’ve passed the TLSAE course. I Drive Safely automatically sends the results of your TLSAE course to the FLHSMV. However, if you’d like to take a copy along just in case, you can download and print a copy of the certificate from our website.
A parent must accompany you with a notarized form confirming they were present when you completed the online permit test. If you’re under the age of 18, your parent also needs to sign a Parental Consent For a Driver Application For a Minor form.
Once you have your permit, you’ll have to follow the Florida Graduated Driver’s Licence (GDL) program. The GDL program restricts those with a learner’s permit to only drive in the daylight for the first three months. After three months, you can drive until 10 p.m. Every time you drive, you must be accompanied by a licensed driver that is over the age of 21.
Take the Florida Permit Test with IDriveSafely
IDriveSafely.com is one of the leading online driver's education schools with over 20 years of experience. Our Florida online permit test is approved by the (FLHSMV). You can learn in the comfort of your home and at your own pace. We also offer a TLSAE Course and Online Permit Test Combo Course that makes it easy to complete both courses quickly.