Did you have a slip-up while out on the road in Orlando? If you complete traffic school, you may be able to keep that mark off of your driving record. But where can you take the course and how does it work? We've got good news. Traffic school has never been easier and can even be done online in as little as one day. Here's all you need to know.
Where Can You Take Traffic School in Orlando, Florida?
In Orlando, Florida, the easiest way to take traffic school is online. Just make sure you take traffic school from a course provider approved by the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles(FLHSMV). Florida has a variety of driving courses that are necessary for different situations, and the FLHSMV has a list of approved providers for each course.
Before choosing a company, it's important to think about the delivery method of the course. Different providers offer the courses in different ways including in a classroom, online, via a DVD, and through a booklet. If you want to attend in-person, you'll need to find a provider near you. However, if you opt for an online course, such as the one provided by I Drive Safely, you won't have to worry about a school's location as you can complete it from the comfort of home.
How Does Traffic School in Orlando, Florida Work?
In Orlando, there are three main traffic school courses.
The Basic Driver Improvement (BDI) Course
You can take the BDI course voluntarily if you have a non-criminal moving violation and don't have a commercial driver's license. The benefit is that it can prevent the points from showing up on your driving record, also preventing an increase in your insurance premium cost. However, you can only qualify for traffic school once per year, up to five times in your life. Also, you must sign up within 30 days of the ticket, notify the court, and pay the fees and fines.
The BDI course is also required in some situations such as if you were at-fault for an accident that resulted in people being transported to the hospital or if you were convicted of racing on a highway.
Either way, the course can be completed online in four hours.
The Defensive Driving Course (DDC)
The DDC (also referred to as the DDS and ADV) is required for Florida drivers who have received two traffic tickets within one year and who have been ordered by the court to take a driver's improvement course longer than four hours.
It's twice as long as the BDI but is still available online with I Drive Safely. To complete traffic school mandated by the court, you'll need to enroll, complete the course, and then provide your completion certificate to the court by the deadline they give you.
The Advanced Driver Improvement (ADI) Course
Lastly, the ADI course is required in Florida if your driver's license was suspended due to having too many points in a given period. The point limits for suspension are:
30-day suspension for 12 points within one year
90-day suspension for 18 points in 18 months
One-year suspension for 24 points within 36 months
The ADI may also be required if you were convicted of causing three crashes within three years. In this case, you'll also need to take behind-the-wheel training and pass an extended road test within 90 days.
In both situations, the ADI course is a 12-hour program you can take online.
Get Started with Traffic School Online!
Traffic school isn't anyone's favorite thing, but sometimes it needs to be done. Luckily, it's a lot easier now that you can complete it online. To enroll in the four-, eight-, or 12-hour course, simply head over to I Drive Safely's Florida traffic school page. Once you complete the course, we'll automatically send the notification to the FLHSMV so you'll just need to update the court.