Are you looking for an online traffic school in Hillsborough County, Florida? If you had a slip up while driving that resulted in a ticket, traffic school can help you wipe it off your record. The good news is, gone are the days when you have to go sit in a stuffy classroom to complete the course. Now, you can take care of it from the comfort of home with online course providers like I Drive Safely. Learn why you might need traffic school, how it works, and how to get started online in Hillsborough County!
Why Might You Need Florida Traffic School?
Traffic school can come in handy for a few situations.
For starters, it's the only way you can get points from a traffic violation dismissed so they don't cause your insurance premium to go up. Further, it keeps the conviction off your record and can lower your civil penalty. The 4-hour basic driver improvement course (BDI) is available for almost all moving violations. The only exceptions are criminal violations and those made by someone holding a commercial driver's license.
Next, in some cases, traffic school won't be optional. The court mandates it for certain offenses such as reckless driving and failing to stop for a school bus. Being able to complete it online can make the process easy and quick.
Lastly, what if you don't have any recent offenses but want to earn a discount on your insurance? You can complete the BDI and submit proof to your insurance company.
How Does Traffic School Work in Hillsborough County, Florida?
When taking traffic school in Hillsborough County, here's what you can expect.
To be eligible for traffic school, you can't have taken it in the last 12 months. Further, you can only take it five times within your lifetime, can't hold a commercial driver's license, and can't have been cited for going 30 mph over the speed limit.
If you are eligible, you'll need to enroll in a state-approved course and complete it within the timeframe allowed by the court. Once completed, it's your responsibility to provide the court with your certificate of completion and proof that you paid any related fines and fees.
Voluntary Enrollment Requirements
If the court is not requiring you to take traffic school but you want to opt-in to get a ticket dismissed, you have 30 days from that date of your traffic citation to notify them. You can do so in person or by mailing in the request. You should have a place on your citation where you can elect traffic school.
Additionally, within the 30-day-period, you will need to pay any fines and fees involved with the infraction. If you miss the 30-day window, traffic school will no longer be an option for that violation, and the points will be added to your driver's license.
Involuntary School Requirements
If you are required to take traffic school, you will need to complete the course and provide proof within 90 days of your citation. If you don't, your license will be canceled.
The Basic Driver Improvement (BDI) Course
The course most drivers will need to take in Florida is the 4-hour driving improvement course. It includes eight chapters that cover various topics such as highway safety, state traffic laws, vehicle maintenance, and more. Additionally, you'll have to complete and pass a final exam at the end.
However, other courses may be required in certain situations. For example, the 8-hour Advanced Driver Improvement Course is required if your license is suspended for an accumulation of points. Further, the 12-hour Advanced Driver Improvement Course may be required by the court in some escalated situations.
How to Get Started With Online Traffic School in Hillsborough County
Ready to take care of your online traffic school? It's never been easier. Once you're sure you're eligible, you can register online with IDriveSafely. Within minutes, you can be working your way through the course from the comfort of home!