While enjoying the gorgeous beaches and lively night scene of Miami, did you happen to make a driving mistake? Doing so can come with not only a fine and a court date but also higher insurance costs. However, traffic school may be able to help. Read on to learn everything you need to know about how traffic school works in Miami and how you can even complete it online!
Where to Take Traffic School in Miami, Florida
You can take traffic school in Miami, Florida online, in the classroom, or via a booklet or DVD. However, no matter which route you choose, the provider of the course has to be approved by the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (FLHSMV).
If you want to go into a physical classroom in Miami, you'll have to search for a provider near you. On the other hand, if you opt to do the course from home, the provider doesn't need to be near you.
For example, I Drive Safely provides online courses for all residents of Florida, including those who live in Miami. You can opt to complete the courses on your schedule by streaming a video, listening to a narrated audio track, or reading a text-based document.
How Traffic School Works in Miami, Florida
In Miami, traffic school works according to the Florida state laws. In some cases, you can voluntarily enroll, while in others, it will be required. Here are the three main courses and when they apply.
4-hour Basic Driver Improvement (BDI): The BDI is the most basic traffic school course in Florida. If you have a traffic ticket that is not a criminal offense, you can opt-in to traffic school to keep it off your record. However, you are limited to one traffic school course per year and five in your lifetime. The BDI is required if you are convicted of certain traffic offenses such as failing to stop for a school bus or reckless driving. If you don't complete the course in the latter case, you can lose your license.
8-hour Defensive Driving Course (DDC): The DDC is the intermediate traffic school course required for drivers who are showing signs of habitual bad driving. It may be required by the court if you get two or more traffic tickets within a 12-month period. This course is twice as long as the BDI.
12-hour Advanced Driver Improvement (ADI): The longest course is the ADI. It's required if you have a suspended or revoked license due to habitual traffic offenses. Additionally, this course may be required if you are convicted of traffic offenses that caused three accidents within three years. In this case, you'll also have to complete behind-the-wheel training and an extended exam.
No matter which traffic school course you need to take, there's no need to go into a classroom. With I Drive Safely, you can take all of them online, from home, when it works with your schedule. We make things as easy as possible!
Complete Traffic School From Home Today
Ready to get traffic school out of the way? Register today online and start the courses as soon as you'd like. Once you finish and pass, we'll send the notification to the FLHSMV on your behalf. Then, all you'll need to do is ensure you notify the court by your deadline. Get started now!