If you have a Michigan driver’s license, you may have heard of the Basic Driver Improvement Course, or BDIC. Even if you’re studying to get your Michigan driver’s license, it’s a good idea to learn about this course and when you might want to consider taking it. Here’s what you should know about the BDIC in Michigan and how you can enroll in it.
Why You Take the Michigan Basic Driver Improvement Course
The Michigan Secretary of State’s office (SOS) lets you take an online or classroom driver improvement course if you’ve received a traffic violation. Some insurance companies may also offer a discount for taking the class. It’s a good idea to call your insurance company to see if they do.
But most people take the course in order to remove traffic violations from their record. If you want to do this, you need to make sure the BDIC is approved by the SOS office. You have 60 days from the time you receive your eligibility notice to find a class and complete it. If it takes you longer, you run the risk of the SOS office leaving your ticket points on your record, which could affect your car insurance rates.
If you miss your 60-day deadline, the state does not issue an extension. But if you receive another ticket at a later time, you will get another 60 days to take care of that violation. The points for the first one, however, stay in place for two years.
Signing Up for Basic Driver Improvement in Michigan Is Easy!
The great thing about the BDIC is that you can take it online. With I Drive Safely’s Michigan BDIC, the class is fully approved by the SOS office. You can study at your own convenience, and we offer a customer support team available by phone seven days a week to help if you have questions.
To get started, all you have to do is sign up for the class. All you need to get started is your name, email address, and payment info.
Who Is Eligible for the Michigan Basic Driver Improvement Course?
Beyond getting a traffic violation or seeking an insurance reduction, there are other things that factor into BDIC eligibility. You must have a non-commercial Michigan driver’s license, have two or fewer points on your record at the time of the violation, and the ticket cannot involve a criminal offense.
The ticket must also have three or fewer points tied to it. Offenses like reckless and negligent driving are examples of what might not be eligible to take the course. Here’s a list of eligible tickets for BDIC from the SOS office.
What’s in the Course Michigan Driver Improvement Course?
The BDIC is a refresher with eight chapters that cover Michigan traffic laws and rules of the road, defensive driving strategies and tactics, as well as safe driving in a wide variety of conditions.
Once you complete the class and pass the final 25-question multiple-choice test, we take care of the rest. You don’t need to wait for a certificate to come in the mail. We'll notify the SOS office for you. And if you’re trying to get an insurance discount, all you need to do is send the certificate to your insurance provider.
If you’ve received a traffic ticket or are eligible for an insurance discount from your provider, sign up for the I Drive Safely Michigan BDIC course today.