If you received a traffic ticket in Michigan, your first thought might be how you can avoid getting points on your record. Here’s how long those points will stay on your record, and what other recourse you might have, depending on your situation.
How Long Points Stay on Your Michigan Driving Record
Your points for your traffic violation stay on your record for two years after the date of conviction.
But the Michigan Secretary of State (SOS) office also allows you to take a Basic Driver Improvement Course (BDIC) to avoid having any points on your record. The class dismisses up to three points.
There are situations where you may not be eligible for BDIC, like if you received a violation for more than three points. If you don’t have a non-commercial driving license, already have three or more points on your driving record, or committed the violation in a commercial vehicle, you are also not eligible for BDIC.
You Have 60 Days to Sort It All Out
If it’s your first violation, you need to know a few things. Shortly after you get the ticket, you will receive a notice of eligibility from the state informing you of whether you can take a BDIC.
You then have 60 days from that date to complete a BDIC course to remove points from your record. If you do not get it done within that 60-day window, your points will remain on your record for your insurance provider to see for the next two years. Then, you run the risk of rate increases.
If you fail to take the BDIC in time and receive another ticket later, if the ticket is eligible (an offense involving 3 points or fewer) you may be able to take the BDIC for the second ticket. The first ticket’s points, however, are not removed from your record. It’s also important to note that you get to take BDIC once in your lifetime. You can’t keep retaking it every two years as is the case in many other states.
A Closer Look at Michigan Points
As mentioned earlier, if you want to take BDIC, you cannot have a violation above three points. Examples of these include:
Operating a vehicle while visibly impaired
Having an alcohol content while under the age of 21
Refusing a chemical test
Here are some of the violations that carry three points or less and will let you take BDIC:
Moving violations of traffic laws
11-15 mph over the legal posted speed limit
Disobeying a traffic signal or stop sign
Failure to obey railroad crossing restrictions
Take a Course to Eliminate Points Today!
If you are eligible for a BDIC, you can take the course online at your convenience with I Drive Safely. Our online classes also give you full support from experts seven days a week who you can reach out to if you have questions.
Our SOS-approved class involves four hours of required instruction and has eight easy-to-follow chapters. You can take 10-question quizzes and the 25-question multiple-choice final exam as many times as needed. When you complete the course, we’ll notify the SOS office for you. No mailing your certificate, running to the post office, court appearances, or other hassles.
If you’re ready for a convenient, affordable, and easy-to-use option for your Michigan BDIC course, I Drive Safely is your best bet!