New York State uses the Driver Violation Point System to keep track of and punish dangerous drivers. This is one system where it's not a good thing to rack up points. To learn all about the system and how to reduce your points, check out this handy guide.
How Does the Driver Violation Point System Work in New York State?
The Driver Violation Point System assigns point values to different traffic violations. If you commit several violations and receive more than 11 points over the span of 18 months, your license can be suspended.
Points only go on your record once you're convicted of the traffic violation. But, they go on your record on the day the incident occurred, not the day of conviction. Eighteen months after a violation, those points no longer count towards your total but remain on your record as long as the violation does.
What Violations Are Points Assigned For?
Now that you know how the driver violation point system works, here are some of the violations you can receive points for:
Speeding (MPH over the posted speed limit)
1-10 over — 3 points
11-20 over — 4 points
21-30 over — 6 points
31-40 over — 8 points
40+ over — 11 points
Improper turn — 2 points
Failure to signal — 2 points
Most moving violations — 2 points
Improper passing — 3 points
Disobeying traffic signs — 3 points
Running a red light — 3 points
Railroad crossing violation — 5 points
Texting or improper cell phone use — 5 points
Failing to stop for a school bus — 5 points
Reckless driving — 5 points
There are a few situations where you won't receive any points at all for violations. These include any bicycle, parking, or pedestrian violations. There are a few other point-less infractions like having tinted windows or not wearing a seatbelt.
If you want to check how many points you have at any time, visit the MyDMV siteand register an account.
How Can I Reduce My Points in New York State?
If you committed one of the aforementioned violations, the good news is you can reduce them enough to avoid a suspension. If you have 11 points or more in an 18-month period, you need to take a Point and Insurance Reduction Program (PIRP).
Simply sign up for a course from the list of approved providers, which includes IDriveSafely.com. The class is 320 minutes of information about NY traffic law, driver behavior, and defensive driving, and it doesn't even require a final exam. Once you complete a PIRP, four points are "subtracted" from your point total to avoid you getting a license suspension. But, the four points aren't actually removed from your driving record.
It may take up to 10 weeks for the course sponsor to notify the DMV that you completed your course. Completing a PIRP does not affect anything if you already have a suspended or revoked license. You can only complete a PIRP once every 18 months.
Avoid Racking Up Points in New York
Racking up points in New York State is easily avoidable. All you have to do is know the rules of the road and how to apply them to whichever situation you are in. One way to master these laws while having some fun is by signing up for a defensive driving course at IDriveSafely.com. Our bite-sized lessons and videos teach you the laws you need to know all at your own pace, entirely online.