If you're a driver in Florida, you need to follow the rules of the road. There are penalties if you slip up. Florida uses a point system for every driving infraction.
To help you navigate Florida's point system, we created a quick and easy reference guide that covers what happens if you get into an accident, speed, or engage in reckless driving.
The Point System in Florida Is a Graduated System
Florida has a specific number of points associated with specific activities (see the list below). For example, drivers who are texting receive a three-point penalty because Florida considers texting distracted driving. There's a heavier six-point penalty for those who get into a car accident and leave the accident scene.
The more points a driver incurs, the more likely they face serious repercussions that include financial penalties, suspended licenses, and jail time.
Point Breakdown for Different Traffic Violations
Florida has a variety of points for different driving violations. Below is a list of common violations and the associated points that go with each offense.
Driving under the influence: 12 points
Reckless driving: 4 points
Crash while speeding: 6 points
Moving violation harms others: 6 points
Crash, unattended vehicle with car damage: 6 points
Careless driving: 3 points
Speeding: 3 points
Speed over 50 mph: 4 points
Too fast for the conditions: 3 points
Passing on the side of a stopped bus: 4 points
Failure to stop for a school bus: 4 points
Failure to stop at a red light on a one-way street before a left turn: 4 points
Failure to obey red traffic light: 4 points
Failure to yield to a pedestrian who has the right-of-way: 3 points
Failure to obey traffic signs: 3 points
No child restraint: 3 points
Fines & Penalties for Points
Florida's point suspension system in Florida is simple. For example, if you got into two accidents because of speeding over the past year, you would receive 12 points. That means you lose your license for 30 days.
As you can see from the chart below, the next accident would land you a three-month driver's license suspension. The one after that would land a one-year suspension. Here's the full breakdown of points and license suspension timeframes:
12 points in 12 months is a 30-day suspension.
18 points in 18 months is a three-month suspension.
24 points in 36 months is a one-year suspension.
Additionally, you'll likely pay a fine when you have points added to your license. These fines vary based on the severity. For example, driving under the influence has up to a $1,000 first offense fine, while most other moving fines are just $60. These don't include court costs or license reinstatement fees, which can make these infractions even more costly.
How to Get Rid of Points in Florida
Like most states in the U.S., Florida allows you to take driver safety courses to reduce your fines and avoid increases to your insurance premiums. You need to pay an election fee to the Clerk of the Court in addition to the ticket cost before you take the class.
If you have more than 12 points, you need to take the eight-hour Advanced Driver Improvement Course. These extended classes protect those who would lose their license for a specific time frame. For most first-time, non-serious offenses, the standard four-hour Basic Driver Improvement Course will suffice.
Make sure you choose a state-approved school; otherwise, you will not be able to remove the points. A reliable option like I Drive Safely offers both Florida traffic school courses to help you reduce the number of points on your license.
Final Thoughts on the Florida Point System
If you've recently had an accident, reckless driving, or speeding ticket you want to wipe from your record, we can help. Our state-approved institution can take you step-by-step what you need to do to improve your driving record.
Register for our four- or eight-hour Florida Driving Improvement Courses today.