Frequently Asked Questions for Online Defensive Driving in Texas
Yes! Our streaming video, text-based, insurance discount, and seat belt courses have all been approved by the Texas TEA/TDLR to satisfy state requirements for ticket dismissal and insurance reductions.
- I want to dismiss a ticket from my driving record, but I’m not sure if I’m eligible to take a Texas online traffic school course. How do I find out?
Generally, you are eligible in the state of Texas if you:
- Hold a valid non-commercial drivers license
- Have been cited for a minor moving violation
- Have NOT completed a defensive driving course in the last 12 months
- Did NOT commit your infraction in a construction zone.
If you still are unclear as to whether you qualify for traffic school, contact your court and request more information concerning your particular circumstances.
You may take a defensive driving course once every 12 months.
Yes. If you have been cited for a seat belt violation and a judge has ordered you to take a seat belt course, our online Occupant Child Passenger Safety (OCPS) course can help you fulfill that requirement.
First, contact your insurance provider and find out if they offer a discount. After you complete your Texas insurance discount/defensive driving course, simply take your certificate of completion to your insurance company. They will process your course completion and apply your predetermined discount to your premium!
Our Texas online defensive driving course meets the state-required length of 6 hours. You may work through the course all in one day, or spread it out over a longer period of time.
Each course is broken down into 8 chapters that focus on a single topic pertaining to Texas driving and traffic laws. These topics include:
- Highway safety
- Alcohol- and drug-impaired driving
- State traffic laws
- Driving emergencies
- Vehicle maintenance
Each chapter contains a quiz that reviews important content from that chapter. There are 10 questions per quiz, and you must score a 70% or higher to move onto the next chapter. The quizzes will provide you with an excellent opportunity to master the course material. You will be provided with feedback on any incorrect answers, and you may retake your quizzes an unlimited amount of times. If you fail a quiz, you will be asked to retake the chapter’s lesson material before attempting the quiz again.
There is no final exam for your Texas insurance discount/defensive driving course, but there is a final exam for the Occupant Child and Passenger Safety (OCPS) course. You must past the 25 question final exam with a 70% or hire and have three attempts to pass the final exam.
For insurance discount/defensive diving you have unlimited retakes on your chapter quizzes, so if you fail to achieve a passing score on a chapter, you can take it again until you do. The OCPS course requires a 25 question final exam and you have 3 attempts to achieve a passing score of 70%.
Not to get an insurance discount; you’re free to complete that as you like. If you have a court-ordered requirement to take a traffic school course, the judge may assign a deadline date by which you’ll need to complete the course. I Drive Safely provides 730 days to complete your course.
We’ll send your certificate of completion to you for free via U.S. Mail. If you need it sooner than that, we have additional options for expedited delivery via FedEx.