If you’re a Texas driver, defensive driving courses can serve as a great reminder of the rules of the road and safety precautions everyone should take when behind the wheel. Depending on the situation, you may be given the opportunity to take a defensive driving course. There are four types of defensive driving courses in the Lone Star State. Here’s what you need to know about each one.
Traffic Ticket Dismissal
If you received a moving violation in Texas, the county or court where you received it may allow you to take a defensive driving course approved by the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation (TDLR) to dismiss the ticket. In Texas, there are a few other requirements before you can take the ticket dismissal defensive driving course. You must:
Hold a valid non-commercial driver’s license
Have a citation of fewer than 25 miles per hour above the posted speed limit
Have not completed a defensive driving course in the past 12 months; if that’s not the case, you may need to ask the judge if he or she can make an exception
Have not committed your violation in a construction zone
In addition to taking traffic school, you’ll want to visit the county court’s website where you received your ticket to see what other documentation is needed. Some counties require you to go to court and bring proof of driver’s license, insurance, a copy of your Texas driving record, and certificate of completion for the course.
You can also take a defensive driving course to reduce your insurance rates. The course is available completely online, if that’s your preference, and covers Texas driving laws, defensive driving techniques, hazardous conditions, and strategies for avoiding common driving problem areas. Upon completion of the iDriveSafely online course, your certificate is mailed to you, and you should receive it within five to seven days. You can present the proof of completion to your insurance provider. Some may offer discounts as high as 10%, so taking the course is a great way to save a few bucks.
Seat Belt Safety
If you have been cited for a seat belt violation, just like a moving violation, it could negatively impact your insurance rates. In many cases, a judge will order you to take the seat belt safety course. The seat belt course emphasizes the importance of wearing a safety belt and the risks and consequences of not doing so. The course is also available completely online and you have up to three attempts to pass the final exam. Upon completion, we'll mail your certificate to you so you can show it to the court.
Adult Driver’s Education
If you’re a new driver between the ages of 18 and 24 and applying for a driver’s license for the first time in the state of Texas, you need to take the six-hour adult driver’s education course. The course is optional for those 25 or older who are applying for their first license, but DPS does recommend it.
The online iDriveSafely course includes nine simple chapters and a 30-question final exam. Just like the other Texas driving courses, you'll get a completion certificate in the mail as soon as you finish. You can then take your certificate to the local DMV, pass your vision and driver’s tests, and you’ll have a Texas driver’s license!
Need to take an adult driver’s education course? iDriveSafely offers all the courses you need in convenient, easy-to-follow online platforms that have been proven successful for thousands of drivers around the country.