Online Traffic School and Ticket Dismissal in South Carolina
- Court Approved - 100% online course
- Complete the course on your schedule
- Saves you time and money
- Unlimited attempts to pass the final exam
Getting a ticket is a good indicator that you aren’t the world’s best driver, but it doesn’t mean that you’re the worst, either. Making mistakes is all part of being human, and mistakes can be great opportunities to learn.
If you do get a ticket in South Carolina for a moving violation, you will be issued a citation from whichever county court has jurisdiction. Each county court operates with its own set of rules, but there are a few things that are universal: for instance, every ticket will have a phone number that you can call to receive instructions on what to do next.
The state of South Carolina mandates that the course is 4 hours long, and covers several chapters’ worth of information relevant to someone who has received a moving violation. Some of the more obvious topics include: Basic rules of the road, preventative safety measures you can take, and information on how alcohol can impair your coordination and judgment, and negatively affect your ability to drive.
Benefits of Taking South Carolina Traffic School
In addition to the obvious benefits (it’s never a bad idea to keep your skills sharpened), successful completion of the course will allow you to deduct up to 4 points from your driving record. If you’ve only ever gotten one ticket, and are certain that you will never get another, then this may not seem like a big deal. But if – like most of us – you will probably get another ticket at some point, those 4 points could mean the difference between increased insurance rates, additional fines, and even license suspension!
This can be confusing, so here are a few examples of the point values that are assigned to different infractions:
- Failure to dim lights
- Improper backing
- Speeding no more than 10 mph above the limit
- Improperly changing lanes
- Dangerous parking
- Failing to yield right-of-way
- Speeding more than 10 mph above the limit but less than 25 mph above
- Failing to give a signal
- Following too closely
- Reckless driving
- Passing a stopped school bus
- Speeding more than 25 mph above the limit
If you only have 1, 2, or 3 points on your record at the time you take the course, you will only be able to deduct as many points as you have. You cannot, say, have 2 points, take the course, and then have a 2-point credit.
Benefits of a Clean South Carolina Driving Record
A clean driving record is a great thing to have. It means you have kept out of trouble, and in general, that you’re a safe driver with a good handle on the South Carolina rules of the road. It means you listened in driver’s education class, and are generally pretty aware when on the road.
Or, in the event that you did receive a ticket, it means you did the smart thing and enrolled in an online defensive driving course to get those points off your record.
Traffic School - Course Completion
Following your successful completion of the course, you will receive a certificate of completion. You must then submit this to the presiding court, to serve as evidence of your completion. Depending on the court, there can be fax, mail, email, or hand-delivery options.
Once all that is done, it’s generally a good idea to wait a few weeks, then double check your driving record to make sure it has been cleared of points. And continue to drive safely, and keep the lessons from your course in mind, and you’ll avoid getting tickets and points in the future!