Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ) for Traffic School in Nevada
Yes! Our Nevada online traffic school course is state-licensed by the Nevada Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV).
- I want to reduce points from my driving record, but I’m not sure if I’m eligible to take a Nevada online traffic school course. How do I find out?
If you’re looking to reduce 3 points from your driving record, you’ll need to confirm your eligibility with the Nevada DMV. You must meet the following criteria:
- You must hold a valid Nevada driver’s license.
- You may not have taken a defensive driving/traffic school course within the past 12 months.
- You must have fewer than 12 points on your driving record.
- You do not have any pending traffic violations.
Once you’ve completed the course, I Drive Safely will mail you a certificate of completion. You’ll need to contact your insurance provider to see if they offer a discount; if they do, you’ll need to submit that certificate to your insurance carrier to receive your discount.
- How long will this course take?
- What types of things will I study?
- Do I have to take a final exam?
- Is there any way I can fail the course?
- Is there a calendar deadline to complete a Nevada defensive driving course?
- What certificate delivery options do I have?
- Why do I have to send in a notarized statement before I get my Certificate of Completion?
Our Nevada online traffic school course meets the state-required length of 5 hours. You may work through the course all in one day, or spread it out over a longer period of time. We make it easy for you to fit the course into your schedule!
Each course is broken down into 8 chapters that focus on a single topic pertaining to Nevada driving and traffic laws. These topics include:
- Highway safety
- Alcohol- and drug-impaired driving
- State traffic laws
- Driving emergencies
- Vehicle maintenance
Yes, you do. The good news is that we make it as easy as possible for you. If you don’t pass your exam on the first try, simply retake it again!
Nope! You have unlimited retakes on your chapter quizzes and final exam, so if you fail to achieve a passing score on your first try, you can take it again until you do.
Not for the DMV point reduction course; you’re free to complete that as you like. If you have a court-ordered requirement to take a traffic school course, the judge will assign a deadline date by which you’ll need to complete the course.
We’ll send your certificate of completion to you via email for free. If you need it sooner there is also instance certificate delivery available.
The Nevada DMV requires you to certify that you took and passed the Nevada drivers education. Once you have passed the final exam, you will be prompted to print a form and as soon as you have it notarized and send it in to us, we will issue your Certificate of Completion.