Speeding Ticket Fines and Penalties In Florida
Are you a bit of a speed demon? If you consistently find yourself pushing the needle on your speedometer past the legal limit, you could be risking much more than just the ire of your fellow motorists. According to the Florida DMV, nearly 5 million traffic citations are issued each year, with the majority of these being handed out to drivers who just can't seem to slow down. The state of Florida does not take speeding violations lightly, and depending on your county, you could be risking hefty fines if you're caught zipping down the roads too quickly.
Fines, Penalties, & Surcharges
Traffic tickets in Florida are handled by individual counties, and the speeding fines will vary slightly depending upon where you get a speeding ticket in Florida. There will also be a surcharge attached to your citation - this is a separate court-related fee that the county will assess. Usually these fees aren't much more than a few dollars, but it's still extra money that's coming out of your pocket for a careless mistake.
Many counties have similar if not identical fees for speeding tickets, such as Orange and Duval Counties. Others, like Miami-Dade, can be significantly more expensive. Compare these two charts to learn just how much more a speeding ticket can cost if you're caught in the wrong area:
|MPH OVER LIMIT||ORANGE COUNTY||DUVAL COUNTY||MIAMI-DADE COUNTY|
|6 - 9 MPH||$129.00||$129.00||$151.00|
|10 - 14 MPH||$204.00||$204.00||$226.00|
|15 - 19 MPH||$254.00||$254.00||$276.00|
|20 - 29 MPH||$279.00||$279.00||$301.00|
|30 MPH and over||Mandatory court appearance||Mandatory court appearance||$376.00|
As you can see, speeding in Dade County - even just 6 miles over the limit! - will cost you more than breaking the law in Orange or Duval. And that's not all - each ticket comes with a predetermined number of associated points that will be assessed to your drivers license. These points cause your insurance rates to skyrocket, and an accumulation of them could lead to license suspension or permanent revocation.
There are options to avoid these scenarios(florida traffic fines), however, and your best bet is to enroll in a state-approved Florida traffic school course as soon as possible.
Why Take a Traffic School Course?
A Florida basic driver improvement course has the potential to block the points from your ticket, thereby preventing them from being reported to your insurance company. It can also reduce the previously-listed fines that come with each of the speeding violations. If you are a habitual offender, you may be required by your court to take an 8-hour traffic school course instead of the 4-hour basic option for first-time offenders.
Getting your points dismissed not only saves you the money you'd lose through higher insurance rates, but it also prevents an accumulation of them on your driving record, helping you avoid license suspension. Your license can be suspended if you accumulate the following:
- 12 points within 12 months
- 18 points within 18 months
- 24 points within 36 months
If your license is suspended due to points, or to a severe traffic violation or accident, you may be required to complete a 12-hour Advanced Driver Improvement course in order to have it reinstated.
Take Your Florida Driving Course Online
While no one wants to be forced into a traffic school course, there are ways to make it as easy as possible on yourself. Taking your course online gives you the ability to come and go from your traffic school as you please, instead of meeting at an outside location for 4, 8, or 12 hours on a Saturday. You can work from any computer, and study whenever it best fits your personal schedule. This way, you aren't held to someone else's timeline, and you're not pressured to complete your course in an entire day. The online technology allows you to pace yourself through the lessons, and dismiss your points on your own terms.