Questions about Online Drivers Education in Oklahoma (FAQs)
- How do I get an Oklahoma learners permit?
- What is the Oklahoma parent-taught drivers education course? Who can participate?
- How does I Drive Safely’s online drivers ed course work?
- Is doing an online course/parent-taught instructor a faster way to complete driver education?
- What if I don’t pass the Oklahoma online drivers ed final exam?
First, you need to be at least 15 ½ years of age. Our course is a parent-taught drivers education course; to be eligible for your learners permit – and behind-the-wheel training – you’ll need to complete the first 5 units of the course.
The Oklahoma parent-taught drivers education course is an alternative to conventional driver education, and is recognized by the Department of Public Safety. It is offered as correspondence study through approved parent-taught drivers education providers.
You must be at least 15 years old to begin the written coursework. An instruction permit must be issued before starting behind-the-wheel lessons, and it must be on hand whenever you’re driving.
Your parents will need to complete and submit an affidavit to the Oklahoma DPS in order to get you started. That form can be found here, along with more information about the course. The car used for instruction by your parents must:
- Be the same one listed on the affidavit submitted to the DMV
- Be properly registered and display a valid license plate
- Comply with vehicle equipment and safety standards including, but not limited to, being equipped with seatbelts
- Comply with the vehicle liability insurance requirements of Oklahoma’s Compulsory Insurance Law (current proof of insurance must be carried in the vehicle at all times)
Additionally, The Department recommends the use of a second rear-view mirror by the parent.
Our online Oklahoma drivers ed program is a state-mandated 30 hours long. The information in our course is separated into 8 chapters, each covering a specific topic regarding driving in Oklahoma. Once you complete each chapter, you’ll be given a 10-question multiple-choice quiz. Upon completing the first 5 units, you will receive your learners permit. In order to pass the course and be eligible for an Oklahoma drivers license, you’ll need to score at least an 80% on the final exam.
No matter which path you take, whether through our parent taught education or a classroom setting, the state requires all students to complete 30 hours of online or classroom training and 55 hours of actual behind-the-wheel training. The advantage of taking our course is that you can learn the material at your own pace, at any location that has an Internet connection!
We want you to be successful – that’s why you can take the final exam until you pass.
Oklahoma Learners Permit and Drivers License Information
- How do I get my Oklahoma learners permit?
- What do I need to do to get my Oklahoma drivers license?
- What’s the difference between an intermediate drivers license and an unrestricted drivers license?
- I have more questions – who can I talk to?
- What is Roadside Assistance?
- I have questions about my Roadside Assistance. Who should I contact?
- How do I cancel my Roadside Assistance?
Oklahoma Learners Permit and Drivers License Information
To apply for your permit simply go to the DPS nearest you and apply for your permit. The parent / guardian who’ll be acting as your driving instructor will need to be with you. You will be required to bring:
- Proof of your current status as it relates to your education (i.e. enrollment in a secondary or vocational-technical school, proof that you have completed a G.E.D., or proof of home schooling, on a form provided by the Department of Public Safety)
- Your parent-taught drivers education affidavit (to show proof of enrollment in your course)
- Proof of identity and U.S. residency
Possession of a learners permit allows you to drive when:
- You are at least 15 1/2 years of age
- You have taken and passed a drivers education course
- You have passed the written driving test
- You have passed the vision exam
- You are accompanied by an adult who is 21 or older
After having your learners permit for at least 6 months – with no traffic convictions – you qualify to get your drivers license. You’ll get your intermediate license after successful completion of this test. You apply for your permit and license at a driver testing facility. These facilities are operated by the Oklahoma Department of Public Safety (DPS). For a list of driver testing facilities, click here.
With an intermediate license, you must be accompanied by an adult that’s at least 21 years old if you drive between 11:00 p.m. and 5:00 a.m. (there are exceptions to this rule if you are participating in school or community activities). You may also drive 1 passenger, anyone from your family, or any person over the age of 21. The unrestricted license removes these restrictions.
Our dedicated customer support team is here to answer your questions 7 days a week, we’ll answer your questions promptly.
At I Drive Safely, we are passionate about creating safe drivers, and it’s with your safety in mind that we teamed up with Allstate Roadside Services to provide I Drive Safely students with three months of free roadside assistance. A great deal and peace of mind? It doesn’t get much better than that.
Here’s how it works:
- Sign up for your I Drive Safely Drivers Ed or Defensive Driving course.
- During checkout, be sure to opt in to your free trial of Roadside Assistance. This will set you up with three free months of roadside assistance. Please keep in mind that this enrollment opportunity is only available during checkout – don’t miss out! After your trial ends, your card will be charged $5/month, and you can cancel at any time.
- Hit the road with peace of mind knowing you are covered with emergency roadside assistance.
What you’ll get:
- Roadside coverage available 24/7, anywhere in the United States
- Anyone in the I Drive Safely driver’s family can use it!
- Digital tools to help you get the right service fast
- Towing, fuel delivery, lockout service, and more!
- For more information about the benefits involved, check out our terms and conditions here.
For more details, check our Terms and Conditions here.
Got more questions? Contact our dedicated I Drive Safely Roadside Assistance line:
Contact our dedicated I Drive Safely Roadside Assistance line:
If you need to use your Roadside Assistance Benefits, contact Allstate Roadside Services directly at 1-855-520-3691.
If you would like to cancel your Roadside Assistance, simply contact our dedicated Roadside Assistance agents.