Oklahoma Parent-Taught Drivers Ed
If you are under the age of 18, part of meeting your Oklahoma drivers permit requirements includes taking a driver education course. Our Oklahoma parent-taught drivers ed (PTDE) course is a program that allows you to fulfill this requirement from home by taking a course online at a pace that works for you. You will learn all the rules of the road and get the same valuable safe-driving lessons as you would if you were to take drivers ed in a classroom, but you’re completely in charge of how and when you learn – read the Oklahoma parent taught drive guide below.
Online Drivers Ed: Just Makes Sense
Taking an Oklahoma parent-taught drivers ed course allows you to work when it’s convenient for you, so you never have to worry about rearranging your schedule to accommodate it. All you need is a computer that has a basic Internet connection to access this drivers ed course, so you can work on it all from the comfort of your own home or from anywhere else that works for you. This online course has:
- Unlimited online accessibility
- A self-paced format
- Fun in every unit
- Same-day processing and free shipping
- Customer support available 7 days a week!
What You Will Learn in Drivers Ed
Safety is the top priority in a driver education course. Students will get detailed information that will help them better understand and prepare for the challenges they’ll be faced with every time they get behind the wheel.
Here is a short list of a few of the topics covered in the course:
- Current traffic laws and rules of the road
- Valuable tips for staying calm behind the wheel
- Step-by-step scenarios and how to avoid driving hazards
- A rundown of signs, signals, and your responses
- The laws and dangers of driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs
Eligibility Requirements for Teens & Parents
If you decide to take an Oklahoma parent-taught drivers ed course, both you and your parent must meet certain state-mandated requirements. Each student must be at least 15 years of age to start a PTDE course. In addition, a parent or legal guardian must meet the following requirements:
- Have a valid Oklahoma drivers license
- Have not had their license suspended or revoked in the past year
- Have not been convicted of drug or alcohol possession during the past year
- Have no more than 5 points on their driving record
- Have never been convicted of a DUI or DWI
If your parent meets all the requirements above they can submit a parent-taught driver education affidavit.
Parent-Teen Driving Contract
In an Oklahoma parent-taught drivers ed course, parents and teens are working together to make sure everyone is safe behind the wheel. To keep everyone informed of rules and expectations in your household, a parent-teen driving contract is a good idea. This form, signed by the new driver as well as their parents, can be a great way to outline behaviors, curfews, passenger rules, and other household rules that teens and parents are expected to abide by.