Oklahoma Car Insurance & Drivers Liability Insurance Laws
Auto liability insurance exists to protect Oklahoma drivers. It is preemptive protection against accidents, bodily injuries, property damages, and anything else that could go wrong when handling a vehicle. It works by financially covering you or the other drivers involved in an accident. The state requires you to carry a certain minimum amount of auto insurance to protect other drivers in the event that you are at fault in an accident and cause financial damages to them.
Minimum Auto Insurance Requirements in Oklahoma
The minimum auto liability coverage requirement in Oklahoma is referred to as the 25/50/25 rule. You need to carry:
- $25,000 coverage for bodily injuries for one individual involved in an accident
- $50,000 coverage for bodily injuries for one individual involved in an accident
- $25,000 for any property damage inflicted in an accident
Drivers may also choose to purchase additional coverage to protect in other situations or protect for higher amounts of damage or injury. It is generally a good idea to purchase as much insurance as you can afford, as an accident can be financially devastating.
Penalties for Driving Without Auto Insurance
Driving without insurance is never taken lightly. In the state of Oklahoma, penalties include suspension of your license and/or vehicle registration, as well as increasing fines for repeat offenses. Keep in mind that these are only the most common penalties. If the accident you cause is severe and you are uninsured, you might be doing jail time, depending on the officerâ€™s discretion.
Showing Proof of Insurance in OklahomaÂ
In Oklahoma, proof of insurance can come in a few different forms. The DPS maintains an active online database of insured drivers called the Oklahoma Compulsory Insurance Verification System (OCIVS). Your insurance company usually issues an insurance identification card, which should be kept in your car. In lieu of coverage from a state-approved carrier, you can also take out a surety bond from an authorized company and carry physical proof. There are even options available for self-insurance or leaving a deposit with the department of public safety, for which you will be provided with physical proof.
You need to show proof of car insurance whenever you register your vehicle to the DPS, whenever you are in an accident, and whenever you are pulled over by an officer who wants to see proof. Any driver must be prepared to show proof of coverage at all times.
Auto insurance may seem unnecessary and costly. However, considering all of the steep fines and consequences for driving uninsured, getting coverage usually saves money, and even lives. Always remember to keep your policy up to date by paying premiums on time. You never want to be caught empty-handed on the road.